Spaces Box GETTING STUCK!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mpt-matthew, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. mpt-matthew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #1
    GRRRRR:mad:
    When is switch spaces using cmd+arrow the spaces box flashes up to show me moving spaces.
    Sometimes the box stays up and the keyboard freezes.
    i have tried looking at my activity monitor, but its unpredictable.

    Things i have open (activity monotor)
    iTunes, ms Office, chrome, divvy, istat, alerts daemon, MS daemon ?? (and a few more funny names)

    Anyone know what to do.
    I read up on a few forums, and it appears its a bug in spaces (i think), not sure.
    I have checked for updates (non on my update list).
    Anyone have any ideas what to do.

    When it happens i can solve it 2 ways. Lock (close screen, open, then unlock). disable spaces then reenable (but you lose all your locations of windows).

    HELP,
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
  4. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    I have had the same issue, with and without BetterTouchTool, JiTouch, or MultiClutch installed (been testing it for a while, it only shows up sometimes, but it doesn't matter which of those I have installed/uninstalled or if I have none of them). FWIW, killing the Dock in Activity Monitor gets it working again until you try to switch spaces with the keyboard again.

    jW
     
  5. mpt-matthew thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #5
    Not got any of them apps (as far as i know).
    Switching spaces again doesnt help.
    THanks, i will check out the other thread.
     
  6. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #6
    This problem pops up for me primarily when I'm using Things. As someone mentioned, it's a known bug in SL. Maybe fixing this bug should be at the top of the list for 10.7!
     
  7. kdum8 macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    10.7!? This is a major bug, I hope it gets fixed before then! It happens to me at least 5 times a day, often more and I have to log out everytime. This is a major problem and should be bloody well fixed asap. I can't believe that more people aren't complaining about this and Apple haven't fixed it yet. How long has this been going on for now?!! It is making my whole mac less-than-usuable to say the least.

    I never had this problem with 10.5, but I waited until 10.6.6 to upgrade in the hope that they would have fixed most of the issues. Not this one it seems...:mad:
     
  8. biolife macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #8
    Hot Corners

    I've been dealing with this issue for...I don't even know -- it's been far too long.

    Anyways, in hopes of finding a solution I did come across a useful thread some time ago that recommended putting the display to sleep and then waking it right after. I was using the Control+Shift+Eject hotkey to do this, but then I thought it would be much more efficient to just use Hot Corners and have one of the corners (or all?) set the display to sleep. It works 75% of the time on the first go, and the rest of the time in 2 or 3 attempts, but it makes it a whole lot more manageable. Hopefully some of you can benefit from this tip until Apple finally comes out with a fix for this (ever so irritating) problem.
     

Share This Page