Spaces "cube" possible?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kain, May 18, 2008.

  1. kain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    Alright so I tried installing Ubuntu a bunch of times using the Live CD's and Alternate CD's but I kept getting the "cannot acces tty" error or a blank black screen after installation. Finally I just reinstalled Mac OS X.

    Anyway, Ubuntu has a feature like Leopard's that allows different desktops, but Ubuntu creates a cube of the different desktops that can be rotated. So my question is, is this possible on Mac OS X? Can I make Leopard's "Spaces" rotate in cube instead of just showing up on a grid?

    Another tiny thing is that with Ubuntu you can stretch and manipulate windows. Is that possible on Mac OS X also?

    Look up videos on youtube to see what I'm talking. Let me know if you anything! Thanks!
     
  2. kain thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #2
    Ok I figured out what it is, the program called "Beryl" is actually in charge of both those effects. Although I'm having trouble finding a Mac OS X port. Does anyone know how to get it running on Leopard?
     
  3. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #3
    There's an application called You Control: Desktops which lets you use the cube effect (amongst others) when switching spaces, it's not perfect but is the best I've found so far.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  5. kain thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #5
    Yeah I tried VirtueDestops before but the cube doesn't zoom away, it just rotates. I know that's being really picky, but I'm trying to figure out how to get Beryl to work on Mac OS X. Let me know if you have any ideas.
     
  6. BlakTornado Guest

    BlakTornado

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, OH
    #6
    Apple should include more options to do this... for the switchers who keep thinking Linux is OS X and vice versa.

    Plus it's cool... lol.
     
  7. wareagle69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #7
    virtue desktop

    When i download virtue desktops it will not open?
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    What are the OS requirements? What OS do you have?
     
  9. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #9
    VirtueDesktops was made for Tiger. It duplicates the Spaces functionality of Leopard and Snow Leopard and is thus not necessary and redundant. Probably also why it does not load.
     

Share This Page