Spaces Lag

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mr.PS, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. Mr.PS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #1
    I have 3-4 apps open in each space. I have 6gb of ram, 2.5gb of which are in use. When i go to the spaces view (f8). It's choppy - is this normal? Well by normal I mean does anyone else have it?

    I also get some choppiness here and there when I jump in between spaces with ctrl+arrows. Does anyone else have this? I'm reformatting a large raid array with disk utilities, so that may be the culprit, but it really should not be, since there is no i/o from it on my main drive.

    I'm running 10.5.2 with the graphics update and an 8800GT.
     
  2. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #2
    This is happening with spaces, expose, and dashboard. WTF can it be? I'm starting to get really worried now. Can it be a video card issue, a ram issue, or what? I added 4gb of OWC ram, I surely hope it's not causing these issues.

    It happens in spaces all the time with expose, but sometimes with dashboard.

    I'm not paranoid, it's legitimately annoying.
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    My iMac 24" 2.4 is smooth as silk, though intensive use it will lag. I had used 6 spaces, now only 4 and it is smooth.
     
  4. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #4
    something must be wrong then... I will remove my OWC ram and see how it does.
     
  5. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
  6. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #6
    How many spaces do you actually have set up? I didn't see anything about that in your post. If you have 4 spaces x 3 or 4 apps each, that's 12-16 apps open...I would think that could certainly cause a little bit of lag in spaces, even though you're using less than half your memory...

    I have 10 gigs of RAM in my system and I regularly keep at least 4 of my 6 spaces populated with apps, including Firefox (x2), Lightroom and Photoshop - usually 1 or 2 terminal windows and Garageband and Gearbox (music) software as well.

    My memory consumption tends to stay around 3-5 gigs, depending how hard I'm pushing Photoshop and/or Lightroom. Spaces is *always* fast and responsive.

    -Bryan
     
  7. chrisw88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I have a 4 or 5 apps in separate spaces each, and it's silky smooth, with OWC ram.

    I noticed window dragging was consistently choppy for my first couple of days. I had installed 10.5.2 from the combo installer. Numerous restarts and the graphics drivers update didn't help, either. Anyway, I left it alone while I got on with some work. I can't be 100 percent sure about this, but a couple of days later I was running thru the System Profiler info for some reason, and when I got to the Graphics Card section there seemed a slight delay and more info popped up. Since then window dragging and everything else has been spot on. I wondered if the graphics driver could have not been loaded properly somehow, and it was using something generic until System Profiler loaded it? Easy to try, anyways.
     
  8. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #8
    I'm going to the Apple store in a little bit to see how spaces responds on their machine. It's not that spaces is unusable for me. It just gets a few snags, which from what I've seen on youtube and what I asked seems normal.
     
  9. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #9
    um...reformatting a RAID array with SOFTWARE RAID will definitely slow you down some.

    and there is nothing wrong with your RAM.

    relax.
     
  10. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #10
    The raid made no difference. I took the ram out and the results were the same. I also took the raid array out, same results.

    Here is a video I took of my spaces in action:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOcyTFcqtcc

    Here is another video of a user "stress testing":
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUaVgBCZByc
     
  11. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #11
    ok, two things....

    check and see if Spotlight is still indexing. if you have a lot of content or fresh drives of content, it will take a while, and might slow you down a little.

    second thing:

    your lag is tiny. my first-gen mac pro is nowhere near that fast with that many windows open using expose, much less spaces and expose.

    if your video is an example of the worst it gets for you, then i think you'll manage!
     
  12. whistler222 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #12
    in all seriousness.. what lag? i saw the video. i saw a .25 second pause.. that's not normal? damn
    my macbook has much longer paust than that. :(
     
  13. smogsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #13
    hes 2nd video shows it well but its only a 5 second pause...
     
  14. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #14
    The 2nd video isn't mine, it's of another user. The first video is mine.

    Anyway, I went to the Apple store and tried to do the same on their Mac Pro and it was the same as mine, if not slower. So it's normal. I also tried it on an Macbook Air and Macbook Pro - again, the results were same.
     

Share This Page