Speaker Clicking when sound is mute

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by celticpride678, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Whenever my MacBook's sound is on mute and the computer wants to play a sound, the speaker has this little click noise.

    For example, I mute the sound and go to trash a file. It trashes normally, but at the beginning, the speakers click (almost like they want to play that empty trash noise, but cannot because it is mute).

    Any ideas on a fix? Thanks.
     
  2. Jeffrosproto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #2
    I know my speakers make a click before they play a sound, maybe its just sending power to the speakers because a sound is trying to be played, but it can't play because the volume is 0.
     
  3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    Same here, but with a Mac mini connected to external speakers.

    I've got a stereo -> RCA cable going into a JVC RX-450 receiver which outputs to a pair of Scott Omni 3.3s through 16-gauge copper speaker wire with a pretty thick (clear) coating . (I love the setup, but the Omnis' 4'' and 12'' drivers need to be replaced.)

    I really, really, really doubt it, but it may be electromagnetic interference. I've got a Studio 540 going, encoding DVDs pretty much all day within two feet of my mini. I'd move it, but I'm lazy. Try your MacBook in your yard or basement or anywhere without any type of electronic.

    My best guess it that it's a fault in the OS. Maybe reset PRAM?

    I doubt it. When you change the volume of the speakers or headphones or whatever in any device, you are changing the amount of power going to it.
     
  4. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #4
    This happened in my MacBook, too. I just tried a restart and everything went back to normal.
     
  5. Jeffrosproto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #5
    If a restart doesn't work, you could always try a SMC reset, too.
     
  6. celticpride678 thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Well, after a few restarts of the OS, a few PRAM and SMC resets, it seems like all is well. Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page