Speaker issue with Vista on iMac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by makgadikgadi, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. makgadikgadi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #1
    I just installed vista home premium on my iMac using boot camp, so far everything is okay except my speakers. they seem really tinny and very weird, the audio software that boot camp installed is something called Realtek HD, does this have something to do with it?

    My speakers are fine on mac osx, why not on the windows partion? it's seriously unbarable, anyone else come across this?

    I can't seem to change or tweak anything from any of the preferences in the sound options or anything either. i'm using the built it speakers on the latest 24 inch imac.
     
  2. macman44 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    Just installed vista home premium and am having the same problem. It's really quite annoying since the main reason i installed windows is for gaming!
     
  3. iCeFuSiOn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #3
  4. macman44 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    Settings seem fine and I've tried installing new drivers but same problem. :(
    Everything works fine when playing through headphones, and presumably will if i plug external speakers in, it's just the internal ones.
     
  5. SabaManga macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #5
    I'm also having sound problems with Vista.
    My MacBook 13" 2.1Ghz works fine running Leopard.
    I only installed Vista for gaming, but the sound isn't working at all.
    I had XP before, and the sound was fine there.
    When I plug my MacBook Install disk 1 in to update the drivers, it recognises my hardware as MacBook Air?
    Strange.
    I can't downgrade, as I've misplaced my XP copy.
    Help?
     
  6. oli2140 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #6
    I have Windows XP installed on Bootcamp and have bad sound as well. It seems alright when using VMWare fusion though
     
  7. Taig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    #7
    I had this issue as well. For me, it was related to wireless networking, in particualr with draft-n. If I disabled my wireless, the problem dissappeared.

    Upgrading the drivers to a newer version than those included with Boot Camp has solved the problem for some people, but did not help in my case. Still others went into their Device Manager, and browsed to the wireless card, went into advanced properties and under "Disabled Bands", select 802.11a.

    For me, the issue went away when I forced my router to use 802.11g only, thus disabling draft-n. It is not a great solution, I am still holding out that this will be resolved properly in the future, but at least I don't have that crackling sound driving me crazy!
     
  8. fjdksla574 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #8
    jdk

    I have the same problem too! my isight, internal mic, internal speaker and my normal speakers for my macbook doesn't work and im using vista home premium. Hope you reply
     
  9. Taig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    #9
    It sounds like none of the drivers have been loaded on your machine. Did you install the bootcamp drivers after loading Windows? If you go into the device manager, are there a bunch of devices with yellow question marks beside them?
     
  10. fjdksla574 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #10
    reply to thaiq

    I did not install boot camp again, but i can boot on mac. Also there are the yellow warning signs as u had said. do you think you know the solution???

    Please help!!!
     
  11. oli2140 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #11
    Put in your leopard DVD into your mac while you are on bootcamp. Then choose to install your mac drivers. This will allow all of the mac functions such as wireless internet and iSight to work properly.
     
  12. fjdksla574 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #12
    Replying

    Bootcamp? while on my Macintosh hardrive? If it is, it doesn't work. TQ~
     
  13. Taig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    #13
    No, you have to boot up into Windows. Once you are in Windows, that is where you put in the Leopard DVD (disc 1) and run the setup to install all the drivers.
     
  14. fjdksla574 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #14
    Thank you it works, but i still can't get the isight to work. Because, when I go to MSN or Skype it saids its not pluged in.
     
  15. silversurfer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #15
    Wireless A Disablement - Boo yaaaaa

    I had the same issue with my Macbook (late 2008), running Windows Vista Enterprise under BC. The 802.11a disablement trick worked like a charm. Finally, I can Pandora in peace on my shiny battle ax of a machine. Buy that wireless A dude a beer!
     
  16. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #16
    This is a result of lousy driver support from Apple, which should come as no surprise to anyone.
     
  17. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #17
    If you can figure out exactly what kind of hardware you have, you can find the individual drivers yourself (drivers that will be better then what Apple will ever come out with). A program like Everest (tells you things you would never even think of about your hardware).

    Apple will never release drivers that are perfect for Windows, simply because... they could care less about Windows.
     

Share This Page