Speakers for my Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by harveypooka, May 22, 2009.

1. harveypooka macrumors 65816

My Altec Lansing MX5021's have finally died.

I've had two sets and while the quality of sound is really quite wonderful, speakers usually end up making clicking sounds and the transformer inside the subwoofer is very, very loud.

I listen to a range of music - from deep ambient to heavy rock - and play a lot of games. Clarity is more important than volume.

Any suggestions?

2. shawnathan macrumors member

shawnathan

I've been using the same set of Soundsticks II for about 5 years now, and they still sound great!

3. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

ErikAndre

I've been using the Aiwa TS-C20 System for 12 years now. I bought the one on the show room floor. I have it on my MacPro 2008 and use it for HD Video Production. Never failed me since.

4. brentsg macrumors 68030

5. Rychy macrumors 6502

I need some speakers for my Mac Pro too... I've been thinking about getting the Soundsticks II.

6. BigRedOne macrumors regular

+1 on the Audioengine A5's. They sound very nice....

7. mattlong1978 macrumors member

mattlong1978

I use the Acoustic Energy Aego M 2.1 speakers which have impressed me no end after previously using some Logitech Z680's which i found to be way to bass heavy the Aego M's where much more balanced and not as overwhelming don't be put of by the size of the satellites these speakers are an outstanding bit of kit.

8. GoKyu macrumors 65816

GoKyu

I've been really happy with my Bose Companion 5 system. Best speakers I've ever used, and they have a great balance - no distortion on the highs/mids or bass, even at higher levels.

9. eylee86 macrumors newbie

Swan M10