Specific Machine IP or Mac Address linked to Computer ??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fab5freddy, May 15, 2009.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    I would like to know if my MacBook Pro connected to WiFi has
    a specific I.D. or IP address linked to my Computer
    that Google can read when i open an account ( adwords account ) ?

    Is there any way Google can tell that the same Computer has
    opened several accounts with the same machine ?

    thanks!
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  3. carlosbutler macrumors 6502a

    carlosbutler

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    London City
    #3
    as previous poster, every computer, and in fact many electronic equipment has its own MAC address. IP address may have something to do with it, but if google do record the IP address it will be your external not internal IP address. unless your ISP has said you have a static IP address, all you need to do is reboot the router and you may get a different address. check by logging into the router.
     
  4. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #4
    But can Google see that it was my MAC address that opened
    specific Accounts in Adwords ??
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Yes, Google can see your IP address when connecting to any of their services (unless you're using a proxy). Google won't care about your MAC address though and can't see it.
     
  6. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #6
    ok, I can always change the IP address through a VPN or a Proxy,

    but you Cannot change the machine specific MAC address.

    So my question is :
    Can Google see which machine your are logging in from ?


    thanks !
     
  7. lostngone macrumors 65816

    lostngone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage
    #7
    You CAN change your machines MAC with the ifconfig command. It isn't recommended but it can be easily done.
     
  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I really don't understand what you're so worried about Google looking at you. Tens of millions of people access their stuff every day, why do you think you'll stand out? Are you doing something naughty with your adwords account?
     

Share This Page