Speech recognition calibration

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by delude, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. delude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Why can I not get this to work?
    I try to 'calibrate' it and have repeated the stupid lines time after time, clearly and slowly in a quiet environment, but they never flash or indicate that it is calibrated.

    What can I do?
     
  2. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    Sounds like is not accepting input from the mic. - So Apple has you talking to yourself aye? :)

    What mic. do you have, how is it connected, and what are the system settings?
     
  3. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Check Sound in System Preferences and verify that in the Input tab you have the internal mic or your external mic selected, and also that the input level meter appears to be picking up noise.
     
  4. delude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yesh! I must have sounded like a loser to my family :eek:

    I want to use the internal mic, which is selected as the input and the levels move (in all the places that there are levels).
     
  5. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    What do you mean sounded looser? Your vocal chords are sagging? Or just overly casual speech?
     
  6. delude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    lol, *loser.

    Anyways, I still can't get this to work.
     
  7. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #7
    Have you tried the mic on a different Mac?
    tried the mic with a different application?
     
  8. delude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I'm starting to think perhaps I can't get it to work because of my English accent? The mic is fine, and works with everything else, but I cannot for the life of me get the commands to blink and calibrate.
     
  9. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Speaking commands? Is that separate from voice training it? Where it has you read a story to it. Have you done that yet?
     
  10. delude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I don't understand? If I go to speech under System Preferences, and then Speech Recognition, there is a calibration button. After clicking this it tells you that you must read the commands out, and that they will blink when said correctly. I can read these out forever, but they don't blink and it clearly doesn't work.
     

Share This Page