Speed Dial WebClips, right on the home screen.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by slapguts, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
  2. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #2
    Not working

    This is not working...It only wants to dial the last 4 digits of the phone number. It is not dialing the full 10 digits. What am I missing or will it just work for a local 4 digit number???

    Great Idea if it can work!
     
  3. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #3
    Oops, my mistake. Remove the dashes. I'll edit the original.
     
  4. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
  5. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #5

    I can't see why not, the script is pretty basic. Just put the full phone number in the space where the # are now. It doesn't care how many numbers, or digits.

    Heck, 911.tel.QLNK.net might be convenient.
     
  6. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #6
    or dangerous ....
     
  7. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #7
    TA DA...that was the it!!! Works like a charm...OUTSTANDING POST!

    Don't forget to put in the full 11 (include the 1) digits for long distance numbers.

    Have a great day!
     
  8. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #8

    You do have to tap twice to make a call, it's not completly one-touch.
     
  9. LangleyAls macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #9
    That is AWESOME!

    cheers OP for the link :) one very happy person this end
     
  10. Hecklerdanny macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #10
    This looks very cool if it works! Can't wait to try it out.
     
  11. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #11
    Thanks!

    :D
     
  12. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #12
    I can't get it to work. I created the clip, I click on it and it takes me to a page that says page can't be found.

    I did get it to work by following the instructions on the qlnk website but I don't have ac custom image this way.
     
  13. stevelaw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #13
    I got the same error message when I put the number URL over the "http" text. The URL reference on the webclip.us site needs to read as follows:

    "http://##########.tel.QLNK.net"

     
  14. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #14
    I see what I did wrong now, thanks!
     
  15. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #15
    you have officially been promoted to status "MacRumors Badass"
     
  16. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #16
    This is a great hack, thanks!

    rather than doing the QLNK.net URL, I followed the instructions from the first link in the thread and set up the script on my own Linux server. took 10 minutes.. Works great! :)
     
  17. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #17
    :D This is a really nice idea! I have a few questions though that hopefully someone can answer.

    I have a website that I publish using iWeb, to my own domain www.(mysite).co.uk. My knowledge of web publishing is basic to say the least, so iWeb makes it nice and easy for me, and I upload to my site using an FTP program (Captain FTP I think). Is it possible to make a page in iWeb allowing me to create these speed dial icons and access them from my domain??

    Also, how would I be able to add pics of the contacts to the home screen icons?

    I have seen stuff about this on the net but it is way too confusing for me! :rolleyes:

    Thanks in advance :D
     
  18. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #18
    I gave it a quick try.. doesn't look like iWeb/dotMac supports the necessary PHP functionality.. or at least I didn't have any luck with it...
     
  19. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #19
    No PHP on .mac. Just simple websites such as displaying photos etc.
     
  20. Leslie91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #20
    Can't get phone number's picture

    I can get the green phone icon and it works, but it's not getting the picture I have attached to that phone number. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  21. MyNewSolstice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #21
    Aren't we picky! Still this is just bad as hell!
     
  22. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #22
    Its probably not loading your selected picture because its toooooo large.

    It must be under 100KB not MB.

    Hope this helps,
    Good Luck
     
  23. Leslie91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #23
    That was it exactly. Thank you so much for your help!
     
  24. s8film40 macrumors 6502

    s8film40

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #24
    I noticed this also works by entering the standard telephone link code in place of the url (example: tel:1234567)
     
  25. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #25
    Yes, you can use tel://phonenumber to dial using the browser, but it does not allow you to set it as a speed dial webclip, which is what makes this hack so cool. If you put in only the tel:// url and press Cancel, the browser reverts to the previous url. If you press call, the call is placed and you again lose the opportunity to make it a webclip.
     

Share This Page