Speed Test thread while holding/not holding antenna seam

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CashDude, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. CashDude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    Be sure to do at least 2 of each to make sure there is no erroneous reading.

    Connection: 3G

    All 4 tests showed full bars signal.

    I waited 10 seconds after touching or releasing the antenna seam before testing. All tests were in the exact same location within seconds of each other.

    The weird thing: My upload was faster when touching the seam, but my download was drastically reduced. This is concrete proof that it is not just a software issue of inaccurate bars, and that the problem can still be happening when the phone shows full bars. Everyone else try this and post up.

    **Top of List**

    1: Touching Antenna Seam
    2: Not Touching
    3: Touching
    4: Not Touching

    The Rest: Old tests; ignore them.

    **End of List**
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CashDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #2
    I need some more people to post pics so we can compare how it drops.
     
  3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I think it would be smart if you listed the application you are using to preform this test.
     
  4. CashDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    The app is literally called "Speed Test" and it's a free download.
     
  5. Rooftop voter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #5
    I did earlier. Multiple times. Pretty much what you would think. Not holding it, great speeds, holding it, crap speeds. Tested it about 6 times all together to be sure. I took some screen shots, but I deleted some of them.
     
  6. phytonix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #6
    Interesting. Why is upload speed not affected by touching?
    Does this suggest the antenna problem is software fixable?
     
  7. B2fl3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    #7
    My test results are random. If I don't touch it sometimes gives me the same results as if I was touching it.
     
  8. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    How would that make any sense? How would the software know you're touching it?
     
  9. Amnesia87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #9
    Probably because they think it's a software issue with channel switching and stuff like that... TX way less channel dependent that RX o_O
     
  10. CashDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #10
    Does 3G upload use a separate antenna from download?
     
  11. Affe macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #11
    I posted this in another thread, but I'll repost:

    I ran some speedtests over 3G with the Speedtest.net app. I did 5 consecutive tests with the phone resting on the desk (5 bars) and then 5 holding it with my left hand (the first 2 tests were at 2 bars and the last 3 were at 1 bar). The results were quite bizarre.


    (I listed the tests in reverse chronological order for each set)

    Resting on desk:
    Download Speed / Upload Speed in kbps
    - 561 / 802
    - 991 / 508
    - 612 / 360
    - 1344 / 743
    - 707 / 181
    Average: 843 / 518.8

    Holding w/ left hand:
    Download Speed / Upload Speed in kbps
    - 1556 / 344
    - 1556 / 356
    - 893 / 89
    - 1222 / 142
    - 1448 / 72
    Average: 1,335 / 200.6

    The download speeds were pretty much consistently higher when showing lower signal strength (weird). However, the upload speeds were the exact opposite.

    I've continued to randomly test since I originally posted and the results are somewhat consistent. The correlation of slower upload speeds with holding the antennae seem to be the most consistent aspect (~90%). Download speeds, 70% of the time, are faster when it shows lower service. However, I've never managed to get "no service" by holding it.
     

Share This Page