Speed up & de-clutter

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fooddestroyer, Aug 20, 2009.

1. fooddestroyer macrumors newbie

My 2 year old MBP running OSX has got more sluggish. The little multicolored spinning timer wheel keeps appearing a lot more now, and I hate it!

When my old PC used to do this delayed reaction thing, I could go into the running applications and do a general de-clutter of things including the registry.

As I am only a mac novice, I write to ask if there is a way to (safely) de-clutter and check the overall health of this loaded MBP and have things fast and punchy again like when I bought it?

Oh, and something else on this theme of speed: If there is no/little improvement through the answers I get to my first question, when I install Snow Leopard do you think it will speed things and take me back to lighting speed?

Thanks for any help offered.

2. LoganT macrumors 68020

The multi-colored spinning timer is more frequently referred to as "The beach ball of death". There's things you can do, such as Onyx. You may want to just format the HD and install Snow Leopard fresh.

3. Crouchback macrumors newbie

Crouchback

Speed Up a Sluggish Mac

Slow Mac issues are generally caused by one of three things: RAM over-utilization, too little free space on your hard drive or various, esoteric issues with system permissions and the like.

Assuming you have already done the basics (emptied your Trash and restarted), I would do the following to solve most common problems.

--Check your boot drive to make sure you have at least 10% of it empty (for instance, you need at least 50GB of free space on a 500GB hard drive). If you don't, you need to clear up some space. Good (free) apps that can help with this are GrandPerspective and WhatSize, but there are lots of others.