Spelling Bees: wtf?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by sikkinixx, Apr 14, 2007.

1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

sikkinixx

Ok this is picking me. Sorry if I come across as a jerk or ignorant or what have you but seriously, what the hell is up with Spelling Bees? more accurately, what the hell is up with them not only being televised, but talked about on the news?

I flip on the morning news and they are doing interviews with the Canwest National (Canada) spelling bee organizers, the kids, the judges, blah blah blah. Huh? It's a spelling bee for gods sake.

I realize those kids are extremely talented and make me feel like a moron because I can't spell xahjotrjaphila, and they are participating for a lot of money in scholarships, etc. But...seriously....it's spelling. I don't understand the wide spread appeal that carries a Spelling Bee to be on TV, prime-time on a Saturday evening on a major network. I'm majoring in 12th century Byzantine history and literature, most people don't even know what that is and those who do give me a collective *yawn* when they hear about it, yet a ton of people seem to be interested in watching a Spelling Bee! My parents included! Spelling is more interesting than world altering history?! And whats more, it's useless. Need to know how to spell something? Thats why you have a dictionary! It's not like these kids actually know what the word is used for, or it means, they just know how to write it out.

It is sour grapes on my part that people don't care about history but .....words fail me. I just don't get the whole spelling bee circus.

[/confused rant]

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

3. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

psycoswimmer

Because at one point "spelling competitions" was too hard to spell?

I think some people get the thrill of watching other people spell and possibly get it wrong. Didn't that one kid faint or something last year?

4. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

TheAnswer

From wikipedia:

5. MP4-22 macrumors member