Spiderman 3 Audio problem

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by RayR, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. RayR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #1
    I can't get Spiderman 3 to work properly and would appreciate any help you may be able to provide.

    Initially, I used Handbrake to convert to Apple TV format directly from the DVD. The movie worked fine in iTunes but in Apple TV, the sound was coming out a couple of seconds before there was any lip movement. I tried doing the same using Visual Hub but that just seemed to get stuck as the progress bar wasn't moving. I then used Mac The Ripper to rip the DVD first to see if that made any difference. There were quite a few bad sector messages and the like. When it eventually finished, I tried to watch it from within Front Row but the ripped movie wasn't recognised so there was little point in trying to convert it to Apple TV format.

    Has anyone had any success with this movie? I've only recently bought an ATV and have started converting my DVD selection. This is the only movie I've had a problem with so far.

    Thanks for your help.

    Ray
     
  2. Avatar74 macrumors 65816

    Avatar74

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #2
    I could not get Mac the Ripper to recognize Casino Royale, and people who have tried to play the disc itself on the computer have complained that there are audio dropouts.

    I believe that Spider-Man 3, also a Sony Pictures Entertainment release, is quite possibly bearing a heavy copy protection schema making it difficult if not impossible to copy.

    If that's the case, that's the studio's prerogative.
     
  3. RayR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #3
    Quite possibly it is heavily copy protected and I agree that's up to the studio. It's just strange that I was able to get it working fine in iTunes; it's only when I synced with the ATV to watch that I had a problem.
     
  4. Avatar74 macrumors 65816

    Avatar74

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #4
    Hmm... that's a bit different. Can you give a run through of every setting you used on the copy that worked on iTunes but not AppleTV?
     
  5. RayR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #5
    I selected the ATV preset, adjusted the sound codecs to AVC/H.264 Video/AAC+AC3 Audio, and then selected 2-pass encoding. This is the setting I use for all ATV conversions and I've never had this issue before.

    Does that give you enough information? Thanks for your help.

    Ray
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    Sounds like you need to run it through DTOX once, as with "Empire Strikes Back."
     
  7. RayR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #7
    I'd never heard of this until today (I read about it on the MTR forum). Can I do that without ripping it to my MBPro first though because I can't even get the movie to rip correctly at the moment?

    Ray
     
  8. Oilbrnr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    No, you still need to rip with MTR3. Is the disc clean? Most issues I've had have been with dirty discs. However, as noted above, Win apps are much better than MTR. Right now, I'm using DVDFab on a Win partition on my MBP.
     
  10. RayR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #10
    I finally got this to work an thought I'd advise how in case it's any use to anyone else.

    Rather than use the sound codec at AVC/H.264 Video/AAC+AC3 Audio, I used the AC3 only option and the sound now syncs perfectly. It's the same if I select AAC only. The only time I get a problem is with both selected.

    Hope this helps someone.
     

Share This Page