Split screen in iOS 9 with iPad Air

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by StarShot, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. StarShot macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #1
    For some reason I do not see the vertical separator bar when I'm in split screen mode, trying several different apps. Yes, I can drag the list of apps from the right, and I can scroll up or down on the apps. But I can't seem to "PULL" the apps further to the left, splitting the screen like the demos show. I'm wondering if there is something in Settings I have to select?

    My setup is...

    iPad Air
    iOS 9.0.2
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Isn't actual split-screen (vs slide over) only available on the iPad Air 2?
     
  3. Woofie2010 macrumors member

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    For Spilt screen you you need an iPad Air 2.
    Ipad Air can only support slide over, where it only takes about a quarter of the screen
     
  4. techguy9 macrumors 6502

    techguy9

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Sorry boy, you need an Air 2 to do that because that has 2gb of RAM and original Air only has 1gb.
     
  5. firewire9000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
  6. techguy9 macrumors 6502

    techguy9

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Although with the jailbreak released today, it may be a possibility soon with the original Air.
     
  7. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #7
    OK ALL, suddenly I'm feeling I've got junk! All the more reason to spring for an iPad Pro when they come out later.

    Thanks for putting me in my place! SOB, SOB, SOB
     
  8. gwhizkids macrumors 68040

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #8
    I feel your pain...but at least you know why this limitation exists and it is a reasonably logical explanation. Contrast that with those of us on a 5s who don't really know why we didn't get wifi calling on AT&T (not trying to hijack thread)...
     
  9. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #9
    If it's any conciliation, WiFi calling is not the Blue Ribbon prize. Yes, IF you're calling within the US and don't want to burn minutes OR you're calling the Caribbean, it's good deal. As things stand right now, if you're calling say France (from the US), you still pay the int'l rates on the other end. Don't sound like free calls to me. Skype is the answer at around 2 cents a minute.
     
  10. gwhizkids macrumors 68040

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #10
    Ah, but if you have no cell signal at your house, it is the Blue Ribbon prize (at least if you want to use your regular phone number, etc...). It was never supposed to be free, but rather a bridge for locations with suboptimal cell service. But enough on that, since it was not your intent to discuss wifi calling here...
     
  11. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #11
    Well, there is that...
     

Share This Page