Split Screen

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Wando64, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. Wando64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    #1
    I've just discovered by accident the split screen mode of El Capitan.

    Oh why, oh why it took me this long to find out?
    I don't even want to think at what else I am probably also missing.
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
  3. Wando64 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    #3
    I love it.
    I also use a Win PC and I have always loved how you can dock windows to the side.
    Split screen is even more flexible that that due to the ease of resizing the two apps moving the dividing line.
     
  4. btbam91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
  5. Steeley macrumors regular

    Steeley

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #5
    Hold down the green full screen button at the top left of the application and that'll trigger it
     
  6. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #6
    And now in Windows 10 1511, their implementation on Mac OS X "split screen" goes to a whole new level. You now can do something like El Capitan split screen mode does: adjust window size of two apps as you wish. Better yet, you can adjust them even if they are the same app. (Say two word document windows)
     
  7. btbam91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    #7
    Yeah, the implementation of split screen on mac is absolute crap. Holy god what the hell were they thinking?
     
  8. chabig, Apr 30, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016

    chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #8
    What specific complaints do you have? I find it very useful.
    You can do exactly the same thing in OS X. Word doesn't work with El Capitan's split screen feature because, well...Microsoft.
     
  9. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #9
    Well, I don't expect Microsoft word would work with such feature in OS X. However, the focal point is: Windows 10 1511 supports adjusting two same apps window using the way we use similar in OS X. Say, I can adjust two explorer Windows, two paint applications, etc. Due to limitation on OS X, I cannot achieve such feature.
    Well, uh, long story short, I appreciate that Windows now has this feature too. And in Windows, the result is even somewhat better.
     
  10. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #10
    Are you sure its MS and not Apple? The split screen mode is pretty bad in OS X
     
  11. akkers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #11
    You can do exactly the same thing in OS X. Word doesn't work with El Capitan's split screen feature because, well...Microsoft.[/QUOTE]

    Ofcourse Microsoft Word works in split screen mode on OS X El Cap.
     
  12. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #12
    Yeah. And I personally think Windows one is better.
     
  13. chabig, Apr 30, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016

    chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    I have Microsoft Office 2011. It doesn't work. I guess the latest version does.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2016 ---
    Sure you can. All of Apple's apps support split screen. The apps that support multiple windows can place windows side by side too. Here's a picture of two Safari windows side by side. The center can be adjusted left or right as desired. I can do the same with Number, Pages, Keynote, Mail, Preview, Maps, iTunes, Messages, Reminders, Notes, and Textedit. I didn't check any others.

    [​IMG]

    Here's a pretty good video that explains how to use the feature:

     
  14. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #14
    Well then. If it is implemented as you show, then there is not much difference between two "split screens". But I also believe the ability to leave dock and menubar visible would be really welcome. Windows implementation naturally leaves menubar and "dock" (task bar) visible.
    But, "it would be better" does not mean it must be. I am OK with full screen.
     
  15. imcharlie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #15
    A month ago I bought an LG 32-inch monitor to team with my 13-inch MacBook Pro running Sierra and it worked with 1-4 screens. It was great. Now, for some unknown reason, I can no longer get split screens. I have re-downloaded monitor setup software but to no avail. Very frustrating. I loved the 4 screens.
     
  16. dogslobber macrumors 68020

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #16
    Agree, after using Win 10'split screen then you see the OS X version is junk. It's pathetic that they suffer from NIH at Apple and force us to use this. Thank goodness for apps like Magnet.
     
  17. Wando64 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    #17
    Actually I found that Magnet is almost useless if you have multiple desktops open, as I do all the time. Unless you get in the habit of using the keyboard actions, when you try to dock an app to the side of the screen it almost always moves to the next desktop first.
     
  18. dogslobber macrumors 68020

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #18
    Are you using it right? I've never had this problem with Magnet.
     

Share This Page