Split View not working...

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by amitabhbansal, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. amitabhbansal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #1
    after updating to 10.11.1 split view stopped working, in Mission Control DISPLAYS HAVE SEPERATE SPACES is already checked, i tried to uncheck and logged out and logged in and again checked this DISPLAYS... and re logged in, but still its not working, m trying with safari, maps, pages, numbers, notes but nothing is working.
    Please help
     
  2. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #2
    What does it do when you long press the maximize button? Nothing?
     
  3. Shmanky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Split View also stopped working for me in 10.11.1. When you long press on the maximize button nothing happens.
     
  4. dsemf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #4
    Have you tried both methods to start split view? Both methods work for me on 10.11.1. I do not have an external monitor so that might make a difference.

    The method I use is to open the first app and make it full screen using the green button. Then I open the second app, swipe up for mission control and move second app's window to the the same full screen image as the first one.

    It appears to me the long green button approach requires that both apps be already open on the same desktop. I hold the green button until the first app expands to half of the screen. Then I click on the header for the second app and it fills the other half.

    DS
     
  5. Shmanky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Yes, I've tried the method you described. Worked in 10.11.0; stopped working for me in 10.11.1.
     
  6. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #6
    Nothing happen when i long press the maximize button, if i open 2 apps in full screen mode and drag and drop the app in another desktop it shows in slpit screen, but why not long press on maximize button?
     
  7. Shmanky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    OK, Split View wasn't working because I had disabled it by unchecking System Preferences > Mission Control > Displays have separate Spaces.
     

Share This Page