Splitting the Guitar Signal

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by MowingDevil, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. MowingDevil macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #1
    Hello. So what are people using to simultaneously record both a direct guitar signal plus an amp mic'ed?

    I have a Duet, and I could probably do it w/ that alone although there would be latency issues. I thought about a simple A-B-Y splitter. They come fairly cheap but I am sceptical about noise & the signal.

    Started looking into Radial DI boxes, does anyone have a recommendation?

    Instead of dropping $200+ on a Radial unit (active) they also have passive ones for $99 or so. ART has a unit for $59 or so. Is a DI the best solution or is there something else?

    I'm not interested in "re-amping" the signal after the fact so the 'high impedance box' isn't necessary. The Duet's 1/4" input is high impedance anyways if that makes a difference.

    Here's a DI by Radial that was recommended for this type of recording:
    http://www.radialeng.com/di-j48.htm
     
  2. MowingDevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #2
  3. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    Really no need for the DI to be active if it's for a guitar. Just get a passive one.
     
  4. MowingDevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #4
    Everyone at Radial who I talk to is recommending the active one but there is also this passive one that I came across and was recommended by one guy at a local music store (although he seemed unsure and also said go active).

    This is the passive unit: http://www.radialeng.com/re-proav1.htm

    My Duet has active preamps I believe....so ya I was a tad confused as to why I would need an active DI for an electric guitar (w/ passive pickups). I'm new to shopping for a DI box could anyone explain the situations where you'd need active vs passive in a DI box? Someone told me the active one will give you a stronger signal but is this always the case?

    The only way I could justify the more expensive active one is if it provides a better/quieter signal. Perhaps the J series is better electronics? ...or is it just sales rhetoric to get you to spend more dough?
     
  5. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #5
    I don't see why you'd need an active DI going into a Duet's preamp, but I could be wrong. Have a look on Gearslutz, there's a lot of good info there.
     
  6. MowingDevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #6
    You don't need it you are correct. I'd need to do a comparison to really find out what the difference is. From what I've been able to find out it seems the active DI is best for instruments w/ active pickups like some basses & acoustic guitars. The guys from Radial say their units allow for a wider dynamic range if I understood that right....whereas some cheaper passive units clip off some portions of a hot signal. The J48 is both passive & active (via phantom power). I'm still trying to sort all this out.
     

Share This Page