Spoofing MAC Address 10.5.6 - 2.53 Unibody

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Simo1122, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. Simo1122 macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    Hey all,
    I need to change my en1 (Wireless) MAC address on a new 15" unibody MBP. I can't find any solutions on the internet.

    Is there a way to permanently change it? If not is it possible to have a script of some sort do it on boot?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    You can't permanently change it, but you can mask it.
     
  3. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
  4. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
    Hi,
    I don't know what alphaod meant with "mask" but I think you can change it like this:

    Code:
    sudo ifconfig en0 ether aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff
    
    This will not change it permanently.

    Tex
     
  5. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #5
    Didn't work.

    I changed your thing to en1 (wireless) and then after i entered

    ifconfig en1 | grep ether

    and it says it has not changed.
     
  6. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    ok, on Linux you have to disable the interface first so try this:

    Tex ;)
     
  7. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #7
    Didn't work.

    MBP:~ Luke$ sudo ifconfig en1 down
    Password:
    MBP:~ Luke$ sudo ifconfig en1 ether 00:19:e3:04:f7:6c
    ifconfig: ioctl (SIOCAIFADDR): Device power is off
    MBP:~ Luke$ sudo ifconfig en1 up

    and the up command didn't turn it back on.
     
  8. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
  9. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #9
    Didn't work :(

    Does ifconfig en1 | grep ether get the software MAC address or the hardware MAC address?
     
  10. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    Well then I don't know. I will try when I'm back home.
     
  11. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    Well it really doesn't seem to work. It works ok for the en0 interface but not for the Airport (en1).

    After some googling I found this:

    Can you try that ? I'm still not at home and have access to my MBP only via ssh.

    Tex
     
  12. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    It doesnt work either. It looks like the Airport must be ON but not connected. So try this

    Code:
    1- disconnect airport
    /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/A/Resources/airport -z
    
    2- then use again this command
    ifconfig en1 lladdr 00:23:12:xx:xx:xx
    
    
    For me it seems to work.


    Tex
     
  13. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #13
    Legend! It seems to have worked!

    Now How do I get it to do this automatically on startup?
     
  14. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #14
    Well it worked the first time and now it doesnt

    typing in this:

    sudo -s ifconfig en1 lladdr <mac address>

    gives me:

    /sbin/ifconfig: /sbin/ifconfig: cannot execute binary file
     
  15. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #15
    Actually, I got it!

    the -s wasn't meant to be there.

    It should be:

    Airport ON but not connected to any network.

    Enter:

    sudo ifconfig en1 lladdr (mac address here)

    then to make sure it worked, enter:

    ifconfig en1 | grep ether

    And it should show the new MAC address.

    Now should I make a new thread asking if somebody can write a script? :)
     
  16. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #17
    what would be the benefit of spoofing your mac address, is it related to security? I dont really know the technical purpose of a mac address is other then a sort of hardware id.
     
  17. Simo1122 thread starter macrumors member

    Simo1122

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #18
    I have a new computer and the school that I am at has a $150 for any new computer put onto their network. I'm changing my MAC address to be the same as my old one. No $150 fee for me!

    <Stupid school>
     
  18. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #19
    150 dollar fee thats lame. just another way for schools to nickel and dime students.
     
  19. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #20
    Even more stupid if their security filter is only a mac address filtering :)
     
  20. drconehead2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #21
  21. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #22
    It doesn't work on the Airport. I actually does the same command as we"re trying to do, i.e. ifconfig en1 lladdr <mac address>
     
  22. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #23
    Do you mean like this:

    Code:
    # /bin/bash
    
    ifconfig en1 lladdr (mac address here)
    ;)

    Seriously though, I think you could save the above as a file called something like "spfmac.sh", input the mac address & then run this command in the same folder as the file: "chmod 755 spfmac.sh && sudo cp spfmac.sh /Library/StartupItems/ && sudo chown root:wheel /Library/StartupItems/spfmac.sh"

    Perhaps someone is willing to be the guinea pig?
     
  23. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #24
    If you read this thread correctly, you'll see that this command does not work on Airport.
     
  24. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #25
    Didn't Simo confirm it worked for him in the post I quoted?
     

Share This Page