Spoofing mac address on mbp

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by drewwerd, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. drewwerd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #1
    I need to change the MAC address on my MBP Airport Extreme (802.11n). I have heard of spoofMac 1.2 beta, but i can not find a copy to down load and i'm not so good with diving into the Unix world. does anyone know another program to use on the intell machine, or where to get my hands on a copy of SpofMac 1.2b?
     
  2. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #2
    You don't need that ****. Just use ifconfig.

    Google "linux MAC spoofing"
     
  3. keenkreations macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #3
    Is there really any legitimate reason to spoof your MAC address? I honestly want to know if there is a reason...
     
  4. creator2456 macrumors 68000

    creator2456

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Banned from a protected network possibly?

    As for the OP, I second the google approach. So many simple questions can be answered with a quick google search or using OS Xs help viewer and yet these are often underutilized.
     
  5. Punani macrumors regular

    Punani

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Legitimate Uses

    There are definitely legit uses of spoofing, case in point:

    I use Verizon DSL, when I first moved in I was having problems connecting to the Internet, so I called them up and asked them what was going on. Turns out that my connection was bound to a the MAC address of a NIC I didn't own.

    I tried to ask if they could release the MAC address, but they made me call back and try to see if the DHCP lease would simply timeout, before finally giving me the MAC address, so I could spoof it on my router.

    Quality service right there. This is the same firm that responded with, "I don't know, we do it by county in Ohio," when I asked a question about my phone service in California.
     
  6. drewwerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #6
    The reason is the F***ing hotel i am staying in blocked me for downloading too much, ie. a file from my home computer that is 1 gb for work. Legitimacy or not wtf are you even posting for if you don't even have anything to contribute

    Also according to apple's tech support certain routers (Linksys, and D-Link were named specifically) will randomly reject a mac address form apple products, and then if you are lucky randomly start working again. But if you can spoof the mac address then presto you are back in the game. I have had this happen a lot to me also. 1 week it works the next it doesn't, then again for 3 days then not again.
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7

    For starters, this site has a strict policy against knowingly helping people defeat security restrictions put into place.

    9 times out of 10 people do not have legitimate reasons for spoofing MAC addresses, so there is absolutely no harm in asking.
     
  8. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #8
    It is a good question and there is nothing that says he can't ask in this tread. I think he has contributed to the conversation.

    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/28064

    The Stig
     
  9. clicq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    #9
  10. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #10
    Hahahahaha, that's great, it takes one click for Verizon to release the DHCP MAC address binding. The agent likely didn't know what they were doing.
     

Share This Page