Spore on Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by tb2me, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. tb2me macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #1
    Just wondering if anybody has tried to play Spore on a Macbook Air. I just got an MBA and my mom is getting me Spore for my birthday. Will it run well, or should I opt for the cash instead?
     
  2. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
  3. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    Yup, just see how the Creature Creator works.
     
  4. step21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #4
    I tried the creature creator, and well it was playable, but I wouldn't recommend it for anything but the creature creator, especially considering every stage apart from the creature creator is bound to be more demanding on the hardware. So, I would take the money and buy something else with it.
     
  5. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #5
    Spore runs fine on the Macbook Air. I have it running at full res, no problems at all.
     
  6. step21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #6
    @zedsdead interesting. are you using coolbook? Because admittedly I used the creature creator before I installed coolbook.
     
  7. polar-blair macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #7
    Seriously! When I max out the settings on my 20" iMac it gets quite jumpy, especially in the space stage. If you can run it on the MBA why cant it go on my mums macbook?
     
  8. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Really??? I max out everything on my 24" iMac.... it's fine. And your mom's Macbook is probably an older, GMA 950, model. GMA 950 isn't supported with Spore on Mac.
     
  9. Aaroncvx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    Newport, Oregon
    #9
    Creature Creator Screwup

    Don't base the performance of the creature creator on how well the actual game will play. While the folks at EA were making the creature creator they took many shortcuts on the Mac version as opposed to the Windows version which runs smoothly on most computers.
     
  10. Sigmund macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    Does it run without an external disc drive as well? I can use disc sharing from another machine, but if copy protection requires the disc to be inserted in the same MacBook Air, it won't work.

    Sigmund
     
  11. EnigMoiD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #11
    If you got one of the new MacBook Airs with the NVIDIA graphics, you should be fine. But if you got a used/refurbished older model, it probably won't be able to handle it.
     
  12. Sigmund macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    My concern isn't the graphics, but the fact that MacBook Air lacks a disc drive. Can Spore run with shared DVD in another machine? Or even better, with no disc inserted at all?

    Sigmund
     

Share This Page