Spore Rootkit and other questions

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ideonode, Nov 25, 2008.

  1. ideonode macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    (Apologies if this has all been asked already - I did do a search and couldn't find a satifactory answer...)

    I've justed ordered my first Mac lappy (an Alu Macbook 2.4). I'm not a massive game-player, but a decent God-game or resource-management game would appeal. I'm thinking of getting Spore, but I had a few questions about it:

    1. Has it been definitively determined whether the program installs a rootkit on the Mac? Whilst I'm not happy about the install limit, I'd be more concerned about a program changing system settings, disallowing external devices etc. Does this happen on the mac install?

    2. Presumably this game would run on the new Alu MBs with no problems?

    3. Can you run the game off the hard-drive, or is the CD always required? I have a 128GB SSD, so space for me is at a premium - how much hard disk space is required?

    4. Does the game require the internet to start-up in single-player mode. I'll be using my laptop on the train a lot (i.e. no net access), and so I wouldn't want a game that is unplayable.

    Many thanks in advance...
     
  2. Sijmen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #2
    I don't know the answer to question 1.

    2. I suppose, but I'm not sure. I don't have one.
    3. No disc in drive required.
    4. It starts fine for me without an internet connection. I did get a warning about it though, saying that there seemed to be no internet connection.

    I liked the game, but found the space age to become very repetitive and boring. I gave up and started playing WoW again.
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    1. No. At best this is a rumor.

    2. It will, though you'll have to turn down some settings.

    3. No CD is required, but it'll take up about four gigabytes of storage.

    4. No. You can easily play without Internet access, you just lose access to features that require the Internet (downloading creatures from other people's games, etc).
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    I approve this message. Yes the above are true.

    1. It's an urban legend like spontaneous human combustion (though I have been known to be full of hot air). A good article about someone who took it a step further and checked can be found here (remember GOOGLE is your friend that can answer questions FAST)

    2. Yes it will run (you didn't ask how well it would run LOL)

    3. Again, GOOGLE. The new securom being used allows for no-cd play. However there is an initial limit to installations (3 max) and beyond that, you can contact EA support to have it extended. It's a pretty painless process and can be done via email or phone. I've already done it once and it wasn't a hindrance to me.

    4. Internet is recommended for game registration/validation/features but not 100% required. The game does run without it.
     
  5. ideonode thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #5
    Thanks!

    Thanks, folks - you've just upped the Spore Mac sales count by one.
     
  6. MowingDevil macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #6
    But here's the big question about Spore thats holding me back.

    Is the Mac version really dumbed down as has been suggested? The main thing I've heard is the 'evolution' of your creature is sort of cosmedic only. The person said in the PC version if you decide to add 6 legs you naturally run faster than with 2. On the Mac version you don't run faster w/ additional legs. If true thats kinda lame.

    There were other examples but this one just stood out to me.
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    I've never seen anything saying that the PC version is different than the Mac version, and I have Spore installed under both Windows and Leopard. Sounds like they're making it up to me.
     
  8. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #8
    From what I've heard about the game, the number of legs does nothing to affect how fast your creature is. The whole game on any platform is "dumbed down".
     
  9. millar876 macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #9
    I just installed spore from "annonymous source" thismorning, i think its great, and i have already deleted the "iffy" copy and as we speak, LoveFilm.co.uk is sending me a shiney new legit copy ANA i've DL'd Spore Origins for my iPhone to tide me over til it arrives. YAY!

    Only did it this way because I couldnt find a demo
     
  10. sinser macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #10
    I like the game, stunning cartoon graphics and music, but it's a bit uneven. The first four stages are very easy while the Space stage is just too massive. If they balanced better the complexity and added a few game options for each stage it could have been a masterpiece.
     
  11. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #11
    The Mac version is not a dumbed down PC version, it is the PC version with a Cider wrap.
    As far as anyone can figure out the Mac version does not have a rootkit install either.
    It is a great fun game although, yes, it does feel a bit unbalanced, but I suspect that once EA starts on the expansion pack gravy train it will really come into its element.
     

Share This Page