Spotlight completely broken?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nillls, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. nillls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #1
    Hi all!
    After using superduper to move OS X to a new HD, spotlight has completely broken, and the computer takes a bit longer time to boot. Other than that it's running fine. However the spotlight-problem is kinda bugging me.

    Tried everything in this thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=239549
    +this:
    sudo periodic daily weekly monthly
    repairing disk rights
    etc etc. Any suggestions beside a clean install?

    Any help is much appreciated. :eek:
     
  2. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
  3. nillls thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #3
    Hi, and thanks for the reply. I'm on leopard. Already tried rebuilding with Onyx, without success. This is what I get in terminal with the guide posted by you:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    You can exclude the volume you want and the include it again. That will rebuild the Spotlight index on it.
     
  5. nillls thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #5
    Read my first post again: I already tried that. However, performing one of the commands on the link posted by misterredman allowed spotlight to start reindexing my HD. Hopefully it will solve my problems...:)
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  7. nillls thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #7
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Yes disabling the spotlight daemon, using rm to delete the index, and then enabling the daemon again.
     
  9. nillls thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #9
    This all worked fine, however when booting up now, the apple logo takes an awful long time to show. After that it's booting fine, however. Is it possible that superduper messed anything else up on the drive? Can i fix it somehow? :D
     
  10. frenetic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #10
    Make sure that you have selected the correct start up drive:

    system preferences/ start-up disk

    Frenetic
     
  11. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #11
    If you haven't already clear all the caches with Onyx. It will makes the next startup slower but may resolve the problem.
     
  12. nillls thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #12
    Thank you all, that solved it! :)
     

Share This Page