Spotlight Filter by Path

Discussion in 'macOS' started by abnospam, Apr 25, 2010.

1. abnospam macrumors regular

abnospam

Hi Everyone - I'm brand new to OSX, and I have found one thing that is a bother to me. I can not seem to find anyway to search on PATH or more specifically filter out by PATH.

Let me give you my use case.

I search for a client's name, say "Apple". Now I get tons of hits with the word Apple from Entourage emails/attachments, hits on apps, hits on filenames, hits on folders and hits on file content. Well, I know the file I am looking for is specifically under the "Clients" folder so I want to filter out the results to just those under that folder tree. I just can't find a way to do it. Not only is PATH no available as a column to view and sort by, but it also appears to not be searchable and I can't find a search keyword to use like onlyin: or path:

Please tell me there is a solution!

2. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone

1. Open Finder
    2. Navigate to the folder you wish to search in
    a. You can do this faster by using Command + Shift + G and typing your path (Use tab completion to make this go faster)
    3. Type your search in Finder's Spotlight
    4. When the search bar appears, select the name of the folder, in this case "Clients"
    5. Add any additional options by clicking the + sign, for example by file type or creation date, etc.

If this is a search you perform often, you can save it to your "Saved Searches" (~/Library/Saved Searches). At that time you will be given the option to add it to the sidebar as well. If you decide to add it later, navigate to the path I gave and drag it to the sidebar.

Default Search Path:
    To make the default search location the current folder:

Finder --> Preferences --> Advanced --> When Performing a search: --> Search the Current Folder

This can also be done via the defaults command:
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.Finder FXDefaultSearchScope value