Spotlight Hijacked!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Paulinderwick, Nov 8, 2011.

1. Paulinderwick macrumors newbie

I am mystified - having owned various macs since 1991 I thought I was familiar with most quirks of the system but... Spotlight on my MacBookPro (10.7.2 2.7ghz Intel Core i7) will only return Office documents - powerpoint, word etc and does not indicate any keynote presentations although I have literally hundreds (if not thousands I am a lecturer using Keynote every day of the week). Help! I've tried turning off the restart feature, looked at log-in features, tried to get rid of Microsoft Document Connection (a prime suspect) but it keeps coming back and still Spotlight refuses to return any document except one created in Office.:confused:

2. Paulinderwick thread starter macrumors newbie

Nope!

Just tried that, didn't work, then tried it again restarting between each addition and removal from the list - it still returns Office documents from versions back to 2004 and before as well as Office 2011.:confused::confused:

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

I rarely use Spotlight, preferring to use Finder, as it gives more search options and control.

4. davidlv macrumors 65816

5. Paulinderwick thread starter macrumors newbie

Tried that too!

Many thanks for the suggestions so far, I tried Easyfind which looks promising but I need to find words and names in slides in Keynote and Easyfind couldn't do it or so it seems. Still doesn't adress the mystery though - why is Spotlight only returning documents created in Office???:confused::confused::confused:

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

I've never had Spotlight return as many search results as Finder does. It appears to only show top results, but not all. As to why it finds Office docs and not iWork, I don't know. It certainly isn't because it's been "hijacked". I rarely use it, as it produces incomplete results with no additional filtering options.