Spotlight Search for Apps in iOS 11

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by wannabelean, Sep 18, 2017.

  1. wannabelean macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #1
    I'm having to type the full name of the app for it to show up in Spotlight search results. This was never the case before. A few letters of the app name would bring up the name in iOS 10! Unless I'm doing something wrong, this is a huge disappointment!
     
  2. JamesBerry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #2
    I have found this as well. This is the way that I launch apps all the time!

    I have found a solution, though - go into general, search & siri suggestions and then go into the apps and turn ON the search. I had turned this off in IOS10 as I don't really want the content only the apps to be shown, but it appears in IOS11 that the two are tied together

    Best wishes
    James
     
  3. emil234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    #3
    But if we want to search content by spotlight in apps like viber, WhatsApp ?
     
  4. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #4
    You’re 100% correct. How bizarre. Thanks!
     
  5. Erdbeertorte, Sep 18, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2017

    Erdbeertorte Suspended

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #5
    Should work if it even does in app searches. But I don't use Siri.

    IMG_0002.png

    Edit: I have the opposite problem and don't find an option to disable Spotlight. Was it even possible before?
     
  6. nikusak, Sep 19, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017

    nikusak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    #6
    I was just about to post a thread about this. Totally insane! What were they thinking? I’ve been using this feature all the time, both on iPad and Mac for launching apps. It’s pretty much the only thing I use Spotlight for.

    No complaints about iOS 11 otherwise (so far), but this is simply a massive annoyance.

    Edit: Ok so there is a way, as instructed above. Still, this sucks. In most cases I’m not interested in the app data, I only want to launch the app. Oh well..
     
  7. bigenius macrumors member

    bigenius

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    I'm a bit upset about this as well.
    I don't want to index all the apps content, just be able to search for the app name.
     
  8. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #8
    My issue with spotlight is that it only pulls up the app and not what folder it’s in.

    I haven’t seen anyone else complain about this so i is it a bug or just me?
     
  9. bigenius macrumors member

    bigenius

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    Didn't notice that earlier, but it's the same for me. I relied on seeing the folder name in a few occasions, now I can't any more.
     
  10. auxbuss, Sep 22, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017

    auxbuss macrumors regular

    auxbuss

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I'm also seeing search results from Bing when I have DDG set as Safari default. I can't find a way to stop this behaviour. Is there a way _not_ to leak data to Microsoft?
     
  11. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #11
    I wish I could turn off the auto-fill results that appear while I do a search. I only use Spotlight to search for apps on my iPhone. And I like the Siri App Suggestions, so I can't turn off the "Suggestions in Search" in the Siri settings.
     
  12. sjcaro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #12
    Same problem here... I have lots of apps, and never use the "icon" to open it. Until iOS 11, I used Spotlight to find any app with the 2 inicial letters... now it is not working anymore. I have to type the entire app name exactly to show up, or search for the app in the app store and then open it from there...

    If you activate the Siri search, Spotlight gets cluttered with lots of infos from inside the apps...
     
  13. chriscrowlee macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #13
    I posted this issue late in the Developer Beta cycle, and there were no legitimate solutions then, and there aren't now. You either have to include the app in the Spotlight search and accept that it's also searching within the apps, or not search it at all and can only open it by typing the actual app name (not the display name, but the actual file name of the app, aka if the app is called Bank of America you have to type BofA because that's what the file is called)... really poor implementation.

    I reported the issue to Apple, but who knows if they consider it an "issue" or a "feature" ... these days at apple it seems hard to know which is which in their mind, similar to their interpretation of "mistake" vs "by design" in their product releases.

    Sad.
     
  14. JamesBerry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #14
    Still seems to be the case in the 11.1 betas :-(
     

Share This Page

13 September 18, 2017