iPhone Springboard iOS 6 - cpu usage

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by DSF, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. DSF, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013

    DSF macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I would like to discuss and troubleshot Springboard cpu usage.

    First I would like to know what's the normal cpu usage.
    I have it on around 0.3%-0.9% when it's okay and it doesn't suck the battery fast.

    When the problems starts the Sprinboard process takes more than 3% cpu! See the attached screenshot.

    Do you know how I can fix this?

    Here is a list of the tweaks & apps (cydia) I've installed:
    I thought that Springtomize or Zephyr could create the problem so I disabled respectively uninstalled and the problem persists. Disabled Accelerate too (from SBSettings).

    Any idea how I could see the resources used by hooks/threads connected to Springboard?
    If not, it will sucks if not as I have lots of mobile substrate tweaks.. and this happen randomly :(

    IPhone 5, 6.1

    Thank you

    Edit: add info about Accelerate being disabled in SBSettings
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
  3. DSF thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #3
    I don't think that's Accelerate because I've disabled this one too via SBSettings. And about 1-2 hours ago I've replaced it with FakeClockUp.. but meanwhile I've disabled multiple other Mobile Substrate tweaks. So waiting and trying, trying..

    Thanks
     
  4. DSF thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #4
    I think I've solved the issue.
    I've disabled Unfold and UnfoldServices and for hours Springboard is using mostly 0-0.6% cpu.

    Let's how it goes for more hours...

    If there's an app/solution for viewing threads per processes.. (smth like ProcessExplorer on windows pc)
     
  5. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #5
    You have a pretty big list. For starters, you have duplicate functionality in your installed tweaks. That's typically not a good idea. For example, you can use springtomize or flex to have your app switcher always start in editing mode and get rid of switcher cleaner. There are other examples too I quickly noticed but I didn't go through your list line for line.

    If I were you, I would start by removing all the duplicate tweaks. You should see better performance and battery life by doing this. That's just my opinion. Good luck.
     
  6. DSF thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #6
    BumpyFlatline thanks for your reply.

    I need SwitcherCleaner because I prefer the swipe to close function. Plus hold down for killing all tasks.

    However, after many tests I've found that Unfold made the Springboard took eztra cpu.. (as stated in my prev post)

    Can you tell me please how much cpu is using your Springboard? I've used top -u

    Thanks
     
  7. DSF thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #7
    It seems that Unfold was the culllprit for the high cpu usage of springboard process.
     
  8. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #8
    Hey where did you go or what did you so to see all of your processes and usage?? I'm really hoping somebody will make a tweak that shows CPU usage % in the status bar but this will have to work for now! Is it a cydia app or something?
     
  9. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #9
    You need MobileTerminal and top. I've been using this forever now. It's the first thing I use to check if I have any runaway process which could contribute to battery drain. Once you install them both, just open MobileTerminal and type "top" (without the quotations) and it'll list all your processes. Use gestures inside the app to hide/show the keyboard. Let me know if you have any questions.
     
  10. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #10
    I found mobile terminal but where do I get top?
     
  11. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #11
    You might have to change your Cydia settings from user to either hacker or developer. Then when you search for top it'll appear.
     
  12. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
  13. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #13
    Go to Manage tab then tap on Settings. Choose either hacker or developer and install top.
     
  14. imagineadam, Apr 21, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013

    imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #14
    Thanks! Got it! But new problem. How do I close top? It's using all my cpu!! And on my other monitor it shows 99% usage! And what are "stuck" processes?

    ----------

    Please help! I have top running 3 or 4 times now! How do I kill it?
     
  15. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #15
    Reboot made things go back to normal. Do I have to do that everytime I use mobile terminal with top? Or us there some way to manually kill the top process after looking at stats?
     
  16. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #16
    I think you can just close mobileterminal from the multitasking bar
     
  17. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #17
    I tried that but it didn't work. I went back into terminal and ran top 2 or 3 more times and it kept running more top's on top of eachother! So 4 top processes were running. I'm sure this is probably normal behavior and that's why people like me who don't really know wtf is happening shouldn't mess with stuff like this! # At least I know rebooting clears the process.
     
  18. DSF thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #18
    You have 2 options:
    1) ctrl c (click the arrow in blue circle and choose ^C)
    2) kill xxx (where xxx is the process id - PID). You can open another command window by clicking on the middle dots from the bottom.

    Tips:
    - you can get handy gestures, for eg double click for hide/show keyboard
    - you can add shortcuts, for eg I've added "top" and "top -u" (this command sorts the processes by cpu usage)
     
  19. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #19
    So I started having the same issue. My cpu usage used to bounce between 1-7% at idle but now it's hanging at 10-13 at idle. Trying to figure out whats causing this! Also sometimes my network activity wheel will spin for like 10 minutes in the status bar when I'm at the home screen. I looked at the processes and there are multiple http processes. They do go away after awhile. Here is my list of packages.

    Packages

    5x5 Frame Layout for Iconoclasm - 1.0
    7-zip (POSIX) - 4.57-3p
    Accelerate - 2.0-1
    AppInfo - 1.5
    AppList - 1.5.4
    APR (/usr/lib) - 1.3.3-2
    APT 0.6 Transitional - 1:0-23
    APT 0.7 (apt-key) - 0.7.25.3-3
    APT 0.7 HTTPS Method - 0.7.25.3-3
    APT 0.7 Strict - 0.7.25.3-6
    APT 0.7 Strict (lib) - 0.7.25.3-10p
    Arimo Font - 1.0
    AskToCall - 1.1-4
    Auxo - 1.4-2
    BannerSwipe - 1.1
    Barrel - 1.6.5-1
    Base Structure - 1-4
    BatteryDetective - 1.4.0-1
    BatteryPeek - 0.3-1
    Belgrano Font - 1.0
    Berkeley DB - 4.6.21-4p
    BigBoss Icon Set - 1.0
    biteSMS - 7.5
    Bourne-Again SHell - 4.0.17-13
    BrightnessControl - 1.2.1
    Bubblegum Sans Font - 1.0
    BytaFont - 1.7
    bzip2 - 1.0.5-7
    Cabin Font - 2.0
    CardSwitcher - 2.0-1
    ChargingBackground - 1.2.5-1
    Checkerboard Layout for Iconoclasm - 1.0
    Color Keyboard - 1.3.0-1
    Compass Font - 1.0
    Core Utilities - 8.12-12p
    Core Utilities (/bin) - 8.12-7p
    Curiosa - 0.9~beta2
    cURL - 7.25.0-7p
    Cydia Installer - 1.1.8
    Cydia Translations - 1.1.0
    Darwin Tools - 1-4
    Debian Packager - 1.14.25-9
    Debian Utilities - 3.3.3ubuntu1-1p
    Default HD SBSettings - 1.2
    Didact Gothic Font - 1.0
    DietBar - 1.1
    DietBulletin - 1.0.4
    Diff Utilities - 2.8.1-6
    diskdev-cmds - 421.7-4
    elite 6 - 1.3
    elite 6 fonts - 1.0
    elite 6 i4 wallpapers - 1.1
    elite 6 i5 ColorKeyboard theme - 1.0
    elite 6 i5 wallpapers - 1.0
    elite 6 siri theme - 1.0
    elite uisounds - 1.0
    elite6 Jellylocktheme - 1
    evasi0n 6.0-6.1.2 Untether - 0.4-1
    Expressway Font - 2.1
    f.lux - 0.985
    Facebook Logo for OpenNotifier - 1.1
    FastBlurredNotificationCenter - 0.2
    Find Utilities - 4.2.33-6
    Five Icon Dock - 0.9.3381-1
    FolderEnhancer - 1.9.8.2-1
    GNU Privacy Guard - 1.4.8-4
    gzip - 1.3.12-6
    iCleaner - 6.3.3
    Iconoclasm - 1.8.3
    IconSupport - 1.8.1-1
    iFile - 1.9.1-1
    iOS 7 Bars And Battery - 1.0
    iOS 7 biteSMS Theme - 1.1
    iOS 7 Font - 1.1
    iOS 7 Keyboard Black - 2.0
    iOS 7 Keyboard White - 2.0
    iOS 7 Theme - 4.3.1
    iOS Firmware - 6.1
    iPhone Firmware (/sbin) - 0-1
    Istok Web Font - 2.1
    Istok Web Regular Font - 2.2
    JellyLock (Beta) - 0.0.8-1
    JellyLock RedOrb Icons - 1.0
    Lato Font - 2.2
    LibDisplay - 1.2-1
    libhide - 2.3
    libstatusbar - 0.9.6.1-6
    LiveWire - 1.0.1-1
    Lorem - 1.6
    LowPowerBanner - 1.4.5
    LSFlatAlerts - 1.3
    LZMA Utils - 4.32.7-4
    Mad World Ringtone - 1.0.0-1
    MapsOpener - 1.2.2-
    Merge Font - 2.0
    Merge Regular Font - 1.1
    Message Box - 1.0-10
    MessageSwiper - 3.5.1-1
    Mobile Substrate - 0.9.4001
    MobileTerminal - 520-2
    N Stats for NotificationCenter - 1.0-1
    Ness Font - 1.1
    NetMeter - 0.5.8
    NetMeterWidget for NC - 0.5.2
    New Curses - 5.7-12
    Nitrous - 2.0-1
    NoNewsIsGoodNews - 1.0
    Open Sans Font - 2.3
    Opener - 1.1.1-1
    OpenNotifier - 1.1.3
    OpenSSL - 0.9.8k-9
    PAM (Apple) - 32.1-3
    PAM Modules - 36.1-4
    PandoraSkips - 0.0.3-20
    pcre - 8.30-5p
    Pelida Font - 1.0
    pincrush - 0.9.2-1
    PreferenceLoader - 2.2.1-1
    Profile Directory - 0-2
    Questrial Font - 1.0
    QuickClear - 0.1
    readline - 6.0-7
    RespringCacheFix - 0.2
    Ring Layout for Iconoclasm - 1.1
    Roboto Font - 2.5
    SBSettings - 6.0.5-1
    sbsettingstoggles - 6.0-2
    Serious SBSettings HD - 1.4-1
    shell-cmds - 118-6
    Shrink - 1.0.6.1-4
    Signal 2 - 2.0.10-1
    SpotLock - 0.4
    SpringFlash - 1.6
    SubtleLock - 2.1-1
    symbolicate - 1.2.0-1
    system-cmds - 433.4-12
    Tab+ - 0.9.6.1
    Tape Archive - 1.19-8
    top - 39-4
    Twitter Logos for OpenNotifier - 1.1
    UIKit Tools - 1.1.7
    unrar - 3.6.8-2p
    unzip - 5.52-5p
    US Carrier Logos Zeppelin - 1.0
    WeatherIcon 6 - 6.0.1-2
    WeeLoader - 1.2-1
    WeePreferenceLoader - 1.1
    WinterBoard - 0.9.3911
    Zeppelin - 1.1-1
    zip - 2.32-5p
     

    Attached Files:

  20. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #20
    Here's what things look like when nothing is running after a reboot. The usage seems to climb and hover after using for awhile. (Like in the above picture) Never used to do this. Wonder whats causing it? I'm thinking the network activity wheel spinning and multiple http processes might have to do with a package I have that checks for updates from cydia. I think a repo is down right now and that's what's causing it to keep the wheel spinning till it times out. Anybody l know what might be causing my springboard usage to rack up?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. lucastatic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #21
    You can also quit out of the current instance of 'top' by typing 'q' before exiting your SSH app. If you forget to quit out of top before exiting MobileTerminal then you can 'kill xxx' where xxx is the process ID number of each top instance.

    My approach is much less hands on:
    I use Prompt from the AppStore. It lets you configure an initial command that is run when the SSH connection is established, so less taps overall to get top running. I use 'top -F -R -o cpu -U mobile'. Constructed like that top orders processes by CPU usage and cuts out root processes (system stuff that never really spikes so far as I've seen).

    I also use Background Manager to force quit out of Prompt when I close out of the app via the home button. When Prompt quits it terminates the SSH connection and subsequently terminates top.

    These two things used in conjunction give me a "task manager" app that I can click into and exit out of with minimal taps. It's very nice not having to be on top of quitting top. :)
     
  22. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #22
    Thanks for the tips but I found the culprit. It was subtle lock. It was causing the phantom springboard usage. It just wasn't getting along with my other tweaks I guess! Now my usage is idling back down at 1% :)
     
  23. lucastatic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #23
    Ah, SubtleLock was giving me guff too. Version 2.0-2 started the anomalous SpringBoard CPU usage for me. It went from 0.0-1.0% idle to 5.0-8.0% idle. I have no idea why being that it should only affect the lockscreen but that speaks to a runaway loop in his code and has made me leery of using it. :( His latest version has the same issue as well.
     
  24. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #24
    1% is normal at idle? I can't get mine that low.
     
  25. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #25
    Actually if I subtract the top and mobile terminal usage, then I guess it would be in that same range as yours.
     

Share This Page