Sprint gave me a lock code

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by imjoee, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. imjoee macrumors 6502

    imjoee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #1
    Okay, so i called sprint to give me a lock code. Does this mean i can list it on eBay saying "factory Unlocked" iPhone?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    No.

    The MSL code is useless for Apple devices. Apple does not use MSL codes, nor would trying to enter the MSL code get you anywhere near reprogramming the device, which is what an MSL code is for.

    The only way a Sprint iPhone can be unlocked domestically is for Sprint to enter your IMEI into Apple's unlock database. Sprint will NEVER do that for ANY reason.

    Your phone is still locked and you have a worthless code.
     
  3. imjoee thread starter macrumors 6502

    imjoee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #3
    ahhh, something i do not want to hear :(
    So they won't even enter the IMEI code when my 2 year contract is up and my account is in good standing?
     
  4. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    This is from Sprint's webpage on how their unlock policy:

    and

    http://www.sprint.com/legal/unlocking_policy.html

    Sorry!
     
  5. imjoee thread starter macrumors 6502

    imjoee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    Oh no, then what do i do? someone offered me 380$ for 2 iPhone 5's with lock codes.
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    IIRC, the phones you have would only be useful to people who are currently on Sprint, or will be using the phones out of country.

    For anyone trying to use them on another carrier in the US, they won't work.
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    No, they will not. Sprint does not unlock for domestic use. Only international.

    Sprint will claim that it's not possible because of the design of the phone. However, realize that it's Sprint that required that the phone be designed so that it can't be unlocked as a condition of the manufacturer selling Sprint phones to be used on their network. Sprint doesn't tell you that part though.

    In the case of Apple, Sprint has every IMEI of every device ever manufactured for it's network. All of those devices are prevented from being entered into Apple's unlock database, which is the only way you can unlock the device.

    The only other option is a SIM interposer which tricks the phone into thinking it's on the Sprint network when it's not. But those are finicky and prone to failure after an update of the OS. They are also expensive and if you remove them, the phone is still locked.

    Lastly, you might have heard of the new carrier unlocking agreement. Sprint is part of that, but their unlock policy language indicates that to be unlocked a device must have been DESIGNED and manufactured after February 13, 2015. So, this excludes even the 6 and 6+.

    There are a few people who indicate that there may be a way around this with the 6 and 6+ (see the last page for details in the thread linked in my signature) but it involves a replacement iPhone and preventing the Apple genius from activating the phone.

    Lastly, the new SIM free Apple 6 and 6+ are apparently whitelisted by Sprint so come truly unlocked.

    However, you are entirely out of luck with the 5 series (5/5c/5s).
     
  8. imjoee thread starter macrumors 6502

    imjoee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #8
    thank you for your help! I really appreciate it!

    ----------

    Thank you for your help!
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    You'll have to let them know what you've found out. Give them the option to back out if they can't use them.

    The alternative is dealing with angry people when they find out the phones aren't unlocked.
     
  10. imjoee thread starter macrumors 6502

    imjoee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #10
    Wow, I gained a lot of knowledge from this. I appreciate all of the help! thank you!

    ----------

    It's actually craigslist. Do you think $180 iPhone 5 with lock code form sprint is an okay offer? i want to sell my phone this week. His intention if for international use.

    Also, is this 100% safe if i set my phone back to faculty settings and give him a lock code with an inactive iPhone 5? he wants to use it in europe, i don't want him getting into my financials or private information. Do you think i am safe by selling someone my iPhone?
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    Again. The "lock" code is worthless. It's like having a key to something that has no lock. It won't do anything at all. There is no way to use the code. And even if you could use the code it would do nothing. Sprint gave you something to make you go away. It's worthless.

    If this is for international use, I would advise that you call Sprint and ask them to unlock the phone for international use only (that's all you can ask for). Codes, yet again, will have NOTHING to do with that. The Sprint international department simply has to submit the IMEI of the device to Apple's international unlock database. That Sprint can and will do - they just won't do it for domestic use.

    Otherwise, the buyer will find that he has to become a Sprint customer for 90 days, pay his bill on time and then (and only then) can he ask for an international unlock.
     
  12. imjoee thread starter macrumors 6502

    imjoee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #12
    okay, thank you !!
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Well the OP was right.
    Sprint gave him a lock code.
    Not an unlock code:D lol
    Cause they dont unlock any of their iphones fully for USA domestic use.
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    The MSL code by the way: 000000.

    Even if they gave the OP a different code, that's the one that would "work". :rolleyes:
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Lol:D
    I thought it was 696969.
     

Share This Page