iPhone Sprint iPhone 5 IMEI unlock

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by wjlafrance, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. wjlafrance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #1
    Hey,

    I've searched far and wide and can't find a definitive answer. Forgive me if its been discusses. I did search!

    I have a Sprint iPhone 5 (99xxxx IMEI) and would like to unlock for use on AT&T (on an MNVO on their network), so a USA-based GSM carrier. For an international unlock I can just call up Sprint cause I'm in good standing but I'm looking for a in-country unlock.

    I've heard that phones activated to CDMA networks can't be unlocked for USA GSM, and I've heard the other way also. Is there a site offering this kind of unlock?

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    A Sprint iPhone can not be used on AT&T once factory unlocked. It could only be used internationally. Only the Verizon iPhone 5 can work on any GSM service, granted you won't be able to get 4G/LTE due to hardware and carrier incapabilities.
     
  3. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #3
    God damnit Sprint. I wanted my Sprint iPhone 5 to be unlocked for better selling purposes when the next iPhone comes out. Great. Looks like Big Red customers are gonna be happy. :p
     
  4. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #4
    I'm altogether unhappy with Sprint right now.
    http://community.sprint.com/baw/message/529586

    I think my next phone will be with AT&T or one of their NMVOs such as SimpleTalk. If my phone didn't need a carrier or contract I'd be a much happier guy. :p
     
  5. dhlizard, Jan 16, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013

    dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    Congratulations !

    You have just mastered the important concept if you desire to use your phone on a GSM carrier you start with a GSM phone.

    Avoiding all the restrictions associated with CDMA phones will liberate you.
     
  6. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    Well, you know as well as I do that the Sprint iPhone 5 is as much as GSM iPhone as any other. I can use it on any GSM network I like as long as it's not in my home country! :)

    But yeah, I think just buying the unlocked phone and using it on a dirt cheap network is a great way to do it if you can afford it.
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    My point went right over your head......
     
  8. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #8
    No it's not. The Sprint iPhone is purely CDMA, which is a total different technology from GSM. Yes, you can use a foreign GSM provider once unlocked but that doesn't mean you could use T-Mobile or AT&T. Like I said before, the phone isn't made hardware/carrier wise to accomplish that.
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    Thank You ^^

    ThreadStarter doesn't seem to have any idea about the capabilities/restrictions of GSM vs CDMA phones.
     
  10. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #10
    Cure me of my ignorance. How does the A1429 for Verizon differ from the A1429 for Sprint? Software restrictions, no?

    As I understand it the only difference between the three hardware models of the iPhone 5 are which bands the antenna supports. The A1429 supports UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz) and GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz).

    With the software restrictions removed, as Verizon has done, you could use it on AT&T's network. I know this because I've used a GiffGaff SIM in a Verizon iPhone 4S which roamed on AT&T in the US.
     
  11. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #11
    It just does. It's not software restrictions. As I keep mentioning, it's hardware and carrier restrictions. <<<< Read and re-read<<<<<
     
  12. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #12
    I believe its carrier restriction. Hardware they are the same.

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/marcwebertobias/2012/11/06/the-iphone-5-does-nothing-to-end-apples-conspiracy-with-the-carriers/

    So the reason it would work out side of US is because no one outside of US would adhere to Sprint's list. Thats my understanding at least.
     

Share This Page