Sprint iPhone 5S Unlock

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sicdeath, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. sicdeath macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #1
    Is there a way to use a sprint iPhone 5s on at&t or tmobile?
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Only if Sprint will unlock the phone for you, but I don't believe they will.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    No.

    International unlock only. And only if you meet certain requirements.

    You want to use a Sprint iPhone on a different US carrier, find a SIM interposer.

    Save yourself a Google search. There are no third party unlocks. See the link in my signature.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    That is false.
    Even if they do unlock it still cannot be used on AT&T or Tmobile USA.
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    I've read that a few folks have actually been able to unlock their Sprint iPhones and were able to use them on T-Mobile, but I haven't confirmed this myself.

    But even if this is true, Sprint basically refuses to do it.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    That depends, I think on how you define the word "unlock".

    A Gevey SIM, or SIM interposer will allow this. Sprint and T-Mobile share the same 3G frequency. But because the LTE bands are different you won't get LTE on T-Mobile.

    For some strange reason people seem to consider a SIM interposer as an unlock. I don't get it because if you remove the interposer the phone is still locked. So, this is not an unlock. It's a workaround, but it's not an unlock - even if people want to keep calling it that.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    That is also false.
    Sprints policy is if they agree to unlock it they unlock for international use only.
    Not for any US carrier.
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    I think you're probably right here. Anywhere I can find info on the Sprint "unlock" they're either talking about international use or using an SIM interposer, but not saying as such.

    I could have sworn I read a story at one point about Apple forcing Sprint to unlock a phone, but I'm not finding it.

    Anyway, even though it is technically possible, it is against Sprints policy. Which is what I should have said from the beginning.
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    I know what you're referencing and in a sense you are correct. But it's two extremely narrow anamolies.

    The first one is when Sprint came out with the iPhone 4s. Sprint announced that it would be unlocked. About a month later Sprint rescinded it's decision and sent out a carrier update that locked all iPhone 4s' from that point on.

    But anyone who had a 4s in that very brief moment of time still has an unlocked Sprint 4s.

    The second is during the inital launch of the 5c and the 5s. Apple was short on supply for Sprint iPhones. So, to satisfy the customer, they pulled phones from their unlocked stock and forced Sprint to activate those phones per the iPhone agreement Apple has with Sprint. Apple is the only one that can force Sprint to do this.

    I know a couple people who have unlocked Sprint iPhones in both of these case.

    But I stress that this was extremely rare.
    Apple has caught up with it's stock and unless you are incredibly lucky to find one of those old 4s orginal Sprint iPhones unlocking on Sprint is just NOT going to happen.
     
  10. sicdeath thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #10
    Is there anything like GPP or Gevey that works with iPhone 5S?
     
  11. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #11
    For this reason alone, I could not sign up with sprint. My iphone would cost the same as from the other carriers, but its crippled.
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    Oh, I don't know. My Sprint iPhone 5 is doing pretty good on Sprint. Not crippled at all on the Sprint network. ;):D:D:D
     
  13. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #13
    By crippled I mean that its useless on other networks, unlike verizon, att and tmobile versions.
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    Oh I know. I was just joking with you. :)
     
  15. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #15
    I would recommend just selling your Sprint 5S and buying an unlocked one.
     
  16. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #16
    Interesting. It's hilarious how Apple has the power to do whatever they want.
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    Well…if you're a carrier and you want to sell iPhones, Apple pretty much has that power.

    A lot of people say Sprint made a bad deal with Apple just when the popularity of the iPhone peaked. Considering, Sprint's position at the time I can't imagine they [Sprint] had any sort of bargaining power.
     

Share This Page