Sprint prepaid sim work in sim free iphone 6s??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cnotes2019, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. cnotes2019 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    I don't believe so. I know the postpaid Sprint SIM and the prepaid Sprint SIM are two different part numbers and that the billing is two different systems. So, based on that I don't think it would work.

    But you could try it.
     
  3. cnotes2019 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #3

    Thanks. I may buy a cheap prepaid phone from best buy and some minutes and try but I'm leaning more towards just taking over someone else's postpaid grandfathered plan as I know my phone works on postpaid for sure.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Yeah, Sprint has some checks in place so postpaid and prepaid don't cross. A Sprint SIM of the wrong type won't work.

    I know the SIM free model should be agnostic but I would be surprised if a prepaid Sprint SIM worked in it. But I don't know for certain.

    Which grandfathered plan are you getting?
     
  5. cnotes2019 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #5
    I have some leads on plans to take over but one is an unlimited everything for about $80 a month. I already set up a sprint account and they ran my credit etc so I just need to provide whomever with my account number so they can initiate the process online. Unless you know someone wanting to give up their plan ? I tried to get a sero plan but as I already knew the rep told the other guy I needed a sero plan of my own to take over his. Oh well.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    No, I don't know anything.

    I was just curious. The $80 plan sounds like My Way or All In. My wife and I ditched our late 2008 Everything Data 1500 in March of this year for a $50 Best Buy plan. But I'm not on Sprint any more.

    Kind of funny because we ported over to T-Mobile two months ago with their $80/30 Unlimited plan and now we're grandathered!

    The new unlimited plans are $95/45. The only difference is 7 more GB of tethering data. But as I rarely tether I can live with not paying an additional $15 and keeping the same tethering allowance.

    If you find someone willing to give up an ED plan that's pretty much gold right now on Sprint. The only thing older than that would be the old Fair & Flexible plans with addons but those are very rare as most people jumped to the ED plans when unlimited data was launched.
     
  7. cnotes2019 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #7
    The ED plans are the same or similar to a sero plan correct? I remember reading somewhere that to get a sero plan you could get on an ED plan than add a sero plan than drop the ED plan. I may be wrong though.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    No. SERO was and still is cheaper. With more restrictions. On what phones you can use, how you can get them, when, etc.

    The plan we had, ED1500, originally was $100 first line, $19.99 second line and additional lines (up to five). About two years ago they changed that to $110 first line and $9.99 second line and additional lines. But they also limited any discounts to just the first line. Previously, discounts applied to the entire plan price.

    The plans were 400, 1500 and 3000 (there may have been one or two more) and the number referred to the minutes you had for talk time. Later on that became a joke because Sprint started offering Free Mobile to Mobile and Free Anytime minutes. Combined with free nights and weekends you essentially had unlimited minutes. Then they gave us that earlier this year.

    Not once did I ever go over 1500 minutes. :D
     

Share This Page