Sprint TOO SLOW to use with iPhone 4S?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by jdpruitt, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. jdpruitt Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #1
  2. Frankenstein macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    #2
    That is why I switched to AT&T after being with sprint for over 10 years (and the option to save $30/month by cutting out texting). Since the EVO came out, the network has gradually gotten slower and slower. I knew it was slower, but when I got an AT&T iPad a few months ago I realized just how much slower sprint is compared to AT&T. I know some people have service issues with AT&T, but I live in Atl so it is pretty much 100% blanketed with coverage. I can only imagine what this new influx of iPhone users will do to sprints network.
     
  3. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #3
    It's difficult to wait to buy my new toy+tool, but this is exactly why I decided to wait a couple of weeks before taking the plunge. I'll wait around 2 weeks to see if sprint manages to begin delivering reasonable download speeds, and if they don't then in 2 weeks I'll be buying service with verizon or att.
     
  4. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    I have no problems with it. It's faster than my Evo was on 3G.
     
  5. i3iMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #5
    My speed tests are slow (speedtest.net) but when I actually browse over 3g it seems very quick to me. Quick enough to make me not care and I'm a PC technician so I'm pretty anal about network speed.
     
  6. jdpruitt thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #6
    Post your zip code when replying with your speeds

    Hey guys,

    Could everyone please post their zip code when replying with how their speeds are?

    Here's another thread on Sprint's forums discussing this. The averages are pretty poor:

    http://community.sprint.com/baw/message/352822
     
  7. wongster41 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #7
    people with the sprint iphone, can you post some screenshots from speedtest.net? Make sure to turn off your wifi ;)
     
  8. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Speedtest.net is not a reliable means to really test a connection. No self respecting system administrator would ever use it. It's a novelty and a "cool" site/app. But that doesn't mean the system isn't slow right now. Lets keep in mind that yesterday was the single most successful day for Sprint (By 1:00 Eastern time). In other words they sold more phones yesterday in one day than they did on any other day in the history of the company. While they were hoping for success and probably had an estimate of what they thought they would sell, they surpassed it. Probably by a lot.

    So between yesterday and today and probably for the next few days there is a lot more traffic than ever on Sprint's network. Give them credit that the system hasn't crashed altogether. Obviously some parts of the country are going to be better and some worse but thus far Sprint has managed to keep the network up. I've been with Sprint for about 12 years and I have confidence they will fix things. Plus once everyone settles in and goes back to more normal usage patterns things will smooth out too.

    Lets not forget that just a few months ago Sprint was rated quite high for 3G connectivity. I think Verizon came out as number one and Sprint was number two. Lets give them a few days or at least a week before we condemn them.
     
  9. Fulcrom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Location:
    Hobbs
    #9
    Sprint is fine

    Sprint works fine in my area which is rural I have ok 3G speeds. ATT and Verizon drop call here a lot I had both there services. I had the BB 9630 evo 4g both on sprint BB was slow the evo better my new 4s I pick up this week while on vacation in abq now I am back home not much a drop. Oh yea unlimited data with sprint
     

Share This Page