Sprint Upgrade Question?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ariadnerentz, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. ariadnerentz macrumors regular

    ariadnerentz

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Was wondering if anyone could help me with this. I bought the iPhone 5s last year with a 2 year contract. I was wondering if I buy the iPhone 6Plus 64gb at a full price, would I be able to just activate it on my sprint account? Or would I incur a fee or something?

    I know I can also join the sprint plan, but I'd rather just buy the phone outright so when the next phone comes out in 2015, I can just repeat the process. I am still staying with sprint. I just want to ideally sell the iPhone 5s and activate a new phone on the same line.

    Thanks in Advance :)
     
  2. buzzcutt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Location:
    Jersey
    #2
    You should be fine. I had a 4s on sprint from May 2012 to sept2012 then got a 5 at full price for 749.00 taxes came up to like 815.00
     
  3. ariadnerentz thread starter macrumors regular

    ariadnerentz

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    When you bought the 5S at full price, did you get it on launch day? If so how?

    I want to order it tonight/tmrw morning but I'm worried something will go wrong since I don't have the upgrade available.

    I recently tried to buy a dummy 5C just to see what would happen in the apple store and I got an alert that said "we're sorry your existing plan is not supported on the apple store. Please call sprint in order to verify your eligibility to complete your iPhone purchase"
     
  4. buzzcutt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Location:
    Jersey
    #4
    Well I had my 4s only 4months before upgrading to the 5 at full price. Purchased mine from the sprint site on my account. But yes I ordered it 4am est. it came on launch day. No problems... Got it activated my contract was not affected....it never altered my contract as I'm sure you'll still be able to upgrade again next year with a 2year agreement with the next phone as well seeing that you paying full price for the current iphone6 tonight
     
  5. ariadnerentz thread starter macrumors regular

    ariadnerentz

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Got it. So seems like if I pre-order the 6+ tonight from sprint, I'll get it either on launch day or a few days after.

    Thanks!
     
  6. apwtwenty macrumors 6502

    apwtwenty

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #6
    I did the same thing and got that message. I want to buy a 6+ to be delivered launch day
    I just want to buy it at retail price

    //:
     
  7. buzzcutt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Location:
    Jersey
    #7
    Now my question to u is....Do u know how a 499.99 6+ Will cost me after I renew a 2year contract tonight at preorder with taxes or whatever they charge. Meaning what else does sprint charge besides the contract price... I've never renewed a contract
     
  8. ariadnerentz thread starter macrumors regular

    ariadnerentz

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    I'm going to do it through sprint and hopefully I'll get on the first batch. With the iPhone 5S there were no pre-orders, but I went back and looked through the Sprint iPhone 5 preorder thread and saw that the people who got the first batch of pre-orders did get the phone on the release date. So hopefully I'll get it on the 19th.

    ----------

    Do you mean $499, as in iPhone 6+ 128 GB? I think that one is $949? But I'm not 100% sure
     
  9. buzzcutt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Location:
    Jersey
    #9
    Yea the 128 6+ know how much sprint charges at checkout...besides the 2year contract price for a contract renew?
    I hate unexpected charges lol
     
  10. ariadnerentz thread starter macrumors regular

    ariadnerentz

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    I wanna guess the regular tax, and maybe shipping? I'm really not 100% sure. Activation gets charged on your bill.
     

Share This Page