SR MacBookPro 64-bit?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chrleon, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. chrleon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    #1
    Is the recently released macbookpro, with santarosa and LED, full 64-bit now?
    Or is there still some 32-bit somewhere. Thinking about 3d-rendering, you know.. :)

    Thanks
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Like all C2D Macs, it is fully 64-bit and ready for Leopard and any 64-bit apps that should come our way.
     
  3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
  4. chrleon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    #4
    cool, thanks.

    I ordered mine yesterday, just for the record :)
     
  5. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    gratz! I am close to pulling the trigger, just can't decide if I want the power of a mac pro, over the awesomeness that is the MBP. Also, I would want the 7200rpm drive, and 4-6 weeks turns me off, :(
     
  6. kiang macrumors regular

    kiang

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #6
    If you look at the geek-bench results posted somewhere on this forum, you'll see it actually syill has a 32-bit version of Tiger running, so I don't know if it actually can run 64bit apps :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  7. ninedaysoff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #7
    As far as I've heard you'll have to look for your fav 3D app to be 64bit like the current C4D is. Nonetheless Leopard will be the first OS to be fully supporting 64 itself so maybe a tiny bit of waiting will pay off.
     
  8. twynne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    I'm not sure where you're located, but I placed a UK order for the 17" with 7200rpm drive yesterday and it's showing a ship date of 8th June. I spoke with them this morning to confirm that there is no delay added because of the faster hard drive.
     
  9. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #9
    Tiger is full 64bit to the POSIX layer. You can also compile any program to be 64bit, just when it calls for something from an Apple API, such as Core Video, Cocoa etc., it will be 32bit result.

    Example, I'm currently using a custom built 64bit version of Camino and Firefox on my G5. Any advantages having 64bit on such apps? None, ziltsch, nada. Only advantage compiling it for G5 is it uses code that is optimised code that will take advantage of vectors that the G5 can calculate etc. Speed increase between 5-20% depending on what your doing.
     
  10. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #10
    Leopard is 64 bit, Tiger is 32 bit
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    IIRC, the Santa Rosa platform and the Merom CPUs used for it have a degree of 64bitness. Internally, the CPU is 64 bits for most things but externally things start to drop. Memory addressing is 48bit on the CPU and 36 bit (?) on the motherboard.
     
  12. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Tiger has a 32bit GUI and 64 bit kernel. So you can run 64-bit processes along as they don't use a GUI. Basically you just run 2 processes, one which is 32-bit for the GUI and a second one which is 64-bit for the processing of data. This is how VMWare lets you run 64-bit versions of windows on C2D machines.

    Of course Leopard will be fully 64-bit.
     
  13. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #13
    For some reason I doubt you'll see a speed increase in Camino and Firefox from compiling for 64-bit. Most likely you'll see a speed decrease for most applications that aren't requiring large math calculations (wasted cycles for smaller calculations). But compiling for G5 will definitely speed up compared to the default compilations because of the additional extensions allowed.
     

Share This Page