SR MBP memory limit

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KJdanReuben, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. KJdanReuben macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #1
    I could have asked this on another thread, but it was off subject. So, I was reading a post that hinted that the SR MBP is able to support 8 or more gigs of ram. Is there a limit on the Santa Rosa chipset, or is it that 4gb ram sticks are too much? Thanks for any help!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I believe that it is 8 GB. (2 x 4 GB)

    4 GB chips are still too expensive and aren't being mass produced.
     
  3. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #3
    The Santa Rosa chipset supports 8GB of RAM. Apple only offers and upgrade to 4GB because going up to eight would be way too expensive (if Apple charges $750 to upgrade from 2 to 4, I don't want to know how much they'd want to go from 2 to 8GB...). In the future, though, you should be able to use 8GB.
     
  4. KJdanReuben thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for the quick replies. I don't know if I will ever need 8gb, but it's cool to know that I will be able to have that much.
     
  5. Quiara macrumors regular

    Quiara

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #5
    [SIZE=-1]"640K should be enough for anyone," --att. to Bill Gates (disp.) ^_~[/SIZE]
     
  6. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #6
    So, I was wondering if Windows XP via Boot camp had any problems recognizing 4 GB of ram?

    If anyone has 4 GB of ram and uses Windows XP please let me know as this is the only thing keeping me from the complete and total upgrade to 4 GB.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    You're going to need a 64-bit version of Windows in order to do that.
     
  8. chrisbeebops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #8
    Yeah the only problem with 64bit Windows is that iirc not all of the drivers are available on Windows x64.

    While it is possible to install 64-bit (x64) Windows operating systems on Intel Macs with Intel Core 2 Duo processors, the Windows x64 OS encounters difficulties with full driver support in Boot Camp. The basic hardware used in most Intel Macs have drivers available for various OSes, including x64 versions of Microsoft Windows. However Apple specific hardware such as the built in iSight camera, Apple bluetooth, Apple track pad as well as software enhancements like Apple keyboard mapping and the screen brightness utility packaged with Boot Camp are written solely for x86 versions of Windows XP SP2 and Windows Vista and thus they do not work in the x64 versions of Windows.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boot_Camp#64-bit_.28x64.29_Microsoft_Windows
     
  9. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #9
    The maximum amount of memory that can be supported on Windows XP Professional and Windows Server 2003 is 4 GB. However, Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition supports 32 GB of physical RAM and Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition supports 64 GB of physical RAM

    Windoze x64 Edition supports 128GB of ram, but as others said, driver and app support are really awful.

    Google: windows xp maximum ram
     
  10. brettanderson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #10
    windows xp 32 bit has a 4gb limit, but a portion of this is reserved for your graphics card ram and other things, so if you install 4GB of ram you will only be able to access about 3.0-3.5 GB of it. It's up to you to decide if that's worth it.
     
  11. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #11
    Thanks for the help! So what I understand is that on windows 32-bit I can have the 4 GB installed but I won't get the full 4 GB to use, but it will still work.
     
  12. jmpmntwnty3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #12
    8 GB of RAM? That's INSANE for a notebook! Does anyone know who sells 4 GB RAM sticks?
     
  13. brettanderson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #13
    Yes that's correct.
     
  14. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #14

    Mine shows 2.98 GB of RAM when running XP via Boot Camp.
     
  15. !¡ V ¡! macrumors 6502a

    !¡ V ¡!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #15
    $650.- USD for 2x4GB SO-DIMM Ram kit. :eek:
     
  16. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #16
    I don't think it'll be that cheap. Furthermore, I haven't seen any 4GB single sticks for SO-DIMMs yet. If it was only 650, I'd might take it.
     
  17. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #17
    I wonder if montevina's DDR3 support will allow one to install 4 GB DDR3 sticks...provided they become available this summer at a reasonable price (<$300 for 8 GB)
     
  18. Dkrtemp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #18
    The question is, does Leopard recognizes 8 gb of ram??
     
  19. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #19
    Of course it does. 64-bit OS, plus you can already put substantially more than that in a Mac Pro.
     
  20. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #20
    I think they have updated bootcamp guys as i installed vista 64-bit without any problems with drivers and they all came from Macbook Pro disk one and everything works!!!
     
  21. aldog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #21
    Do all 2.4 ghz macbook pro's have the santa rosa chipset?
    I've never really done anything that has made me think one way or the other about whether mine does. 8gb ram would equal heaven.
     
  22. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #22
    The Mid/Late 2007 and Early 2008 MacBook Pros both use the PM965 (Crestline [Santa Rosa]) chipset.
     
  23. cmm26red macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #23
    I am going out on a limb here (and I was right about the low end Early 08 MBP having a T8300), but I believe the updated MBP coming out late summer/early fall (most likely September) will not have DDR3. While the new model will have the Cantiga chipset (successor to Crestline), this new chipset supports "DDR2-667, DDR2-800, DDR3-800 and DDR3-1066 SO-DIMM." Furthermore, by looking at Intel’s plans for DDR3 implementation (see link below), one would gather that DDR3 is not set for the masses until early 2009. For these reasons, I do not think the Mid/Late 2008 MBP revs will have DDR3 and that this technology will be implemented by Apple with the Nehalem Processor update scheduled for early 2009. DDR 3 is still relatively expensive, even more so for notebook sticks, and 1 more year for prices to come down before it is distributed to the masses just seems like common sense.

    https://intel.wingateweb.com/published/MPGS002/MPGS002_100Eng.pdf
     
  24. hayden21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #24
    Well Vista with SP1 should display the proper amount of Ram, at least it does on my HP, and with the marketing of the Vista 64 Bit OS we should see the introduction of more affordable 4GB Ram and dare I say 8GB Ram. Software companies like Adobe are already developing products for the 64 Bit OS. So those users who remember the XP x64 Edition which was supposed to be all the rave and had absolutely no support or software. Things should be a bit different these days.
     
  25. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #25
    Montevina Preview From Dell
     

Share This Page