SR MBP Screen Flicker 17" ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ldneil, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. ldneil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi there,

    I bought a new SR MBP less than 2 weeks ago with the specific intention of using Logic Pro for music production. The spec is:

    2.4/Hi Res Matte Screen/2gb/160.7200 HD

    Upon loading Logic for the very first time I right away noticed a constant flicker on the main grey background of the default Logic window. This area of the screen is made up of thin horizontal lines of slighty different shades of grey.

    I went ahead and took my machine to an apple store and they agreed to ship me a replacement MBP of the same spec. There are a few other build quality issues wiith the machine as well which I was not 100% satisfied with.

    Whilst I was in the apple store though I replicated the same problem on two other 17" high res machines running Logic. Tonight I have done a little more investigation with the help of another user on the Logic forum. I have taken a screen shot of the flickering screen and then viewed the image in Preview to see if the same problem exists outside of Logic.

    The result was that the flicker is still apparent outside of Logic.

    I have taken a screenshot and posted it to my webspace at the following location:

    http://www.avms12.dsl.pipex.com/MBP17HiResLogicPro.png

    Would anyone out there with the 17" Hi Res screen (or any other screen) like to view the image and post whether they see a constant flicker on the main grey area of the window?

    At this point I am thinking that this is not an application error but a hardware limitation/fault. I guess the question is though:

    are ALL 17" displays affected or just some?

    hope you can help!

    thanks,

    _neil_
     
  2. fongyuen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    yes, i see the flicker and i have the 17" glossy hi-res.
     
  3. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #3
    i own the exact same 17" hi-res config as you do but i do not own logic. i have not noticed any flicker issues on mine.
     
  4. ldneil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #4
    If it's not too much trouble, could you open the screenshot from the link in my first post (maybe in a new window) - and you will be able to see if the flicker is apparent on your screen. Thanks! _neil_
     
  5. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #5
    will do this when i get home from work later today. i'll post the results.
     
  6. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #6
    From your screenshot, I see the flicker when using the default Color LCD profile. No flicker when using my custom calibration.

    Edit: Strange. Tried again with the screenshot at full size, no flicker in either color profile.
     
  7. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #7
    just tested it. yes i do see some flicker. it's due to the refresh rate of the screens and the pattern of the logic pro background. maybe you can change the background???
     
  8. Spoony Bard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #8
    Just wondering - if you've got Boot Camp installed, do you see flickering for that screenshot in Windows as well? While I do see the flickering under OSX on my 15" SR MBP, I don't see it when using Vista. This leads me to believe that the issue can be resolved via a software update.
     

Share This Page