SSD Advice for 13" NON RMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mcdonoughdr, May 16, 2013.

  1. mcdonoughdr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #1
    Hey Everyone!
    What SSD would you guys recommend for my i7 non RMPB? I only want to spend around $100-$140.

    Also, what do I need to open this thing up?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Crucial M4 256 GB or Samsung 840 (non-PRO) 256 GB SSDs can be had for 150 USD, 128 GB can be had for 80 to 100 USD.

    As for tools, a simple Philips #00 screwdriver should do the trick.

    MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

    the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
    • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
    • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)
     
  3. srsub3 macrumors 6502

    srsub3

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Location:
    Boston
  4. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #4

    Isn't he going to need a Torx T6 as well?
     
  5. negativzero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #5
    Torx is only used if you're taking out the superdrive.
     
  6. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #6
    The screws in the side of the hard drive?

    I'm pretty sure they need to be put into the new SSD so it can be mounted properly.
     
  7. negativzero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #7
    Oh yeah forgot about those. Yeah you need torx.
     
  8. Mr MM macrumors 65816

    Mr MM

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #8
    not really for the controller to work properly it needs at least 256gb
     
  9. paul-n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    #9
    The 840 non Pro is a great drive with enough performance, I can recommend it. And yes you need Torx.
     

Share This Page