SSD Advice for Data Doubler on 8,2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maxxed, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. maxxed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    Would like some advice on the best drive for this purpose.

    System is a Macbook Pro 15", 8,2 early 2011 Model. Shipped with a stock 500gb Hitachi Drive.

    Replaced the stock drive with a 256gb Samsung 830 SSD. Very happy with the performance and speed. Everything seems stable, TRIM enabled as well.

    But I need more space!

    I installed the OWC Data Doubler and a momentus XT 500gb (old model, with new firmware). Now I find that the vibrations and noise are really annoying. Battery life seems to have gone down by as much as 30% (vs with SSD only)

    So with that in mind I am planning to get a second SSD for the optibay. The word on the street is that the 8,2 MacBooks dont reliably support 6gb/s, so I am on the hunt for a 3gb/s unit. 128gb would be fine for size, but the speed rules out another Samsung 830.

    Any ideas on the best options for this? This will be a storage drive only and not for booting, but it should be reliable enough not to die randomly.

    The other option is to just stick the stock 500gb hitachi in there, I dont recall anywhere near the vibrations I am feeling now with that slower drive.

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You could check System Profiler/Report > Hardware > Serial ATA and see, what it says for "Link Speed" on the optibay adapter. If it is S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III), you could use another 830.

    Also know, that you can still buy any S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III) SSD and use it with an S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) interface, that is what I do with my Vertex 3 in the optibay of my 2009 MBP which "only" has an S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) interface.

    And before you buy a new HDD or SSD you could always test your stock HDD first of course.
     
  3. Arizor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #3
    This would be true but for some reason the early 2011s don't support 6gb SATA in a reliable way.

    Mine says 6gb link speed, but when I put my SSD in there I got beach balling, freezes etc., though the SSD works fine now in my HDD bay.

    OP - I just put my 750gb stock HDD in the optibay and it runs beautifully, it's very quiet, so I'd advise the same.
     
  4. maxxed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    Yes I've heard the same about unreliable 6gb drives.

    The option for the stock HDD is there of course, but I thought I would investigate the lower cost SSD's at 3gb/s. I could make do with another 256!

    any suggestions?
     
  5. Arizor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #5
    Honestly? I'd just swap the 500gb HDD across.

    Use your SSD for your OS and applications/games, your HDD for all other files.
     
  6. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #6
    I had this issue.

    The optibay indeed only supports 3Gb/s reliably.

    Your best bet is to stick the 500GB in the optibay and use the SDD @ 6GB/s in the main bay.

    OR stick a 3Gb/s SSD in the optibay, and use the SDD @ 6GB/s in the main bay.

    Trust me, I banged my head hard on this issue for a long while last November, it was quite frustrating. I finally settled with a 1TB HDD in the optibay and a 240GB SSD 6Gb/s in the main bay before i sold it.

    It should also be noted that the new mid 2012 cMBP offer 6Gb/s in both bays, allowing for blazingly fast SSD RAID 0 configs.
     
  7. maxxed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #7
    Selling it is out for the time being, I made that decision last week about 3 minutes before buying the samsung :)

    Which is the ideal 3gb ssd for the optibay?
     
  8. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #8
    An older Vertex 2 or any other older SSD will do. but if your looking for storage you may just want to keep the 500GB in there.
     

Share This Page