SSD Almost Full

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HecktheMac, Aug 11, 2017.

  1. HecktheMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    #1
    During the sync operation with my dropbox, the SSD drive in my MacBook Pro became full.

    I bought an external HD, 2TB

    I stopped sync, and quit from dropbox

    From the dropbox icon on top right, I clicked open dropbox folder

    copied all files in that folder to external HD

    Then deleted all files

    I check HD space, no changes, 10 MB free space

    Whats the problem?

    Please advise, thanks
     
  2. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #2
    Did you empty trash can?
     
  3. HecktheMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
  4. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #4
    See if dropbox pulled down the files again. I find unless I wait a while after making a change, dropbox gets out of sync and will do things like re-add files I deleted
     
  5. HecktheMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    #5
    No files added, dropbox is totally out of picture now
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Download and use OmniDiskSweeper. It will provide a sorted list of what's consuming your space.

    If you run it with sudo (As shown below), it will include some system files that it woud not normally have access to scan. That is a more accurate representation of what's consuming your drive.
    Code:
    sudo /Applications/OmniDiskSweeper.app/Contents/MacOS/OmniDiskSweeper
    Another option is to use this terminal command
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g /

    I prefer to redirect it to a text file (this puts it in your Documents folder
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g / > ~/Documents/du.txt

    Like the sudo /Applications/OmniDiskSweeper.app/Contents/MacOS/OmniDiskSweeper command, it will scan all directories, but produce a text file as opposed to showing the results in a window
     
  7. HecktheMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    #7
    Will try that, thanks

    Can u pls tell me how do I get to command line?

    I come from Windows
     
  8. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #8
    Launch the terminal application.
     
  9. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #9
    Terminal is in Applications --> Utilities --> Terminal

    Alternatively, you can hit Command+Space (brings up searchbar) and start typing Terminal and hit Enter when you see the word auto completed.

    You can start any application this way.
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Do you have Time Machine turned on? If so, Time Machine's local snapshots will cause this. You can read more about it here.

    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202301

    Run this command in Terminal and tell us the output. That will show any space used for these local snapshots.

    Code:
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g /.MobileBackups
     
  11. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #11
    Reminder: if you run a sudo command, the terminal will ask for your admin password.
    You won't see that password at all as you type it, just enter it, then press enter to run the command.
     

Share This Page