SSD and HDD BTO: Migration Assistant

Discussion in 'iMac' started by metsjetsfan, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. metsjetsfan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    I have a 1TB Drive that I want to backup to a new iMac(hopefully out soon) that has a BTO 256GB SSD + 2TB HDD. If I use migration assistant will it know to put the apps on the SSD and my media on the HDD? Plan to migrate from Time
    machine not mac to mac

    Thanks
     
  2. metsjetsfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #2
    Apologies in advance for the bump but does anyone know?

    Thanks
     
  3. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #3
    I honestly don't know. I would think if you currently have a Mac with SSD + HDD it would put all your stuff back in the same place. Although I've never setup a new mac from a timemachine backup, only Mac to Mac.
     
  4. Major.Robto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #4
    It will move everything to the SSD,

    Just move your files manualy to the new computer, to be honest.
     
  5. metsjetsfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #5
    And if your HDD exceeds the SSD capacity? I guess ido t remember if there was an option to choose drives i. Migration assistant.
     
  6. Major.Robto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #6
    your best bet is to do it manual,

    you can move your user folder contents over the current user folder, I've done that a few times now.

    saves the pain of waiting,

    with the libary folder you may have to do that manualy with moving a folder at a time becasue some files may be used by the system
     
  7. cypress822 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #7
    in simple terms, how do you do it manually???
     

Share This Page