SSD and HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by GTghost, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. GTghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I have a 2012 MBA with the 256GB SSD, I was wondering if I can also put a regular 500GB HDD in combination with the SSD.

    Or can I get the SSD from the MBA and put it into a MBP with a HDD, so it will have the SSD(from MBA) and HDD.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If you mean can you use an external HDD with your MBA, the answer is yes. Obviously, you can't install a HDD in your MBA.
    No, if you want a SSD in a MBP, you can buy one to install. The flash memory from the MBA cannot be installed in a MBP with a HDD.
     
  3. GTghost thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #3
    What I meant for the first part is can I put an internal hdd with the mba ssd still in?
     
  4. GGJstudios, Oct 15, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    No, there is no place to install any HDD in the MBA. From the MBA User Guide:
     
  5. GTghost thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #5
    One more question, since I don't have the pentalobe screwdriver, I cant check how the ram is setup. My MBA has the 8GB from Apple, would you know the setup, is it 2 sticks of 4GB or just 1 8GB? Reason im asking is because I got an extra 2 sticks of 4GB ddr3.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    The RAM in the MBA is soldered to the logic board. You cannot upgrade it. There are no user-serviceable parts in the MBA that you can change without voiding your warranty.
     
  7. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #7
    About This Mac/More Info/Memory
    plus like GGJstudios say - you cannot upgrade memory in an Air and 8gb is the max anyway
     
  8. wolfpuppies3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #8
    MBAs are not upgradable after the fact. That is why you have to carefully consider exactly what you need your machine to do, factor in growth possibilities and software changes and demands before you select your MBA.
     
  9. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #9
    The ssd in your Air looks like this. It's impossible to put any laptop style ssd or hdd in the MBA and nothing from an Air will fit in a MBP.

    Dale
     
  10. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #10
    You can upgrade the SSD to a larger size, with out voiding the warranty !
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    No, you can't. Whether they enforce it or not, making unauthorized changes to your Mac does, indeed, void the warranty.
     
  12. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #12
    Is that in writing anywhere GGJ!
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    Yes, in the MBA User Guide that comes with your Mac:
     
  14. dyn, Oct 21, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012

    dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #14
    That part says nothing about warranty at all! If you buy an MBA it will come with a small leaflet titled "MacBook Air - Important Product Information Guide". This holds the warranty on the last 3 pages (incl. the back side). It states that you have no warranty when somebody who isn't from Apple or an AASP did the upgrades and it caused damage. Since there is nobody from those two (Apple, AASP) that will do any upgrades to your MBA... There is also a part about not having warranty if there is damage when you operated it beyond Apple's guidelines.

    Btw, there is no user guide that comes with the Mac any more. OS X points to the online pdf version from "About This Mac" > "More info" > "Support" > "User Manual".
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    http://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/mac-english.html
    If it's not something Apple considers a user-serviceable or user-replaceable part, the alteration voids the warranty.
     
  16. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #16
    Not quite because your quote only applies to alterations that change the functionality. Upgrades do not do this, modifications do.
     
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    It says "functionality or capability", which upgrading the SSD would do. You can argue all you want, but unauthorized modifications definitely do void the warranty. Whether someone gets away with it or not is another matter.
     
  18. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #18
    And as usual you are misreading somebody elses posts. I do not disagree with things voiding the warranty, Apple is quite clear about it. I'm only telling you that you are using the wrong quotes to support that claim.

    Also, there is no need to quote the last post in a thread. Just wasted additional space in both the thread and the database.
     
  19. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    I quote so there's no question which post I'm responding to, and to prevent misunderstanding if someone edits their post, as has happened frequently. The Apple information I quoted applies, whether from the User Guide or from the information currently supplied with MBAs. The information has not changed.

    The same information I quoted earlier also appears in the MacBook Air (Mid 2012) - Important Product Information Guide:
     

Share This Page