SSD and Temp File Render

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vogelhausdesign, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. vogelhausdesign macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #1
    Hey everyone, I have a quick question for you. This might be specific, but I'm sure someone can help me. I have my user folder set up on a separate HDD, my SSD is only my app's and system files, however I've noticed that while doing test renders inside Maya/Cinema 4D that when I render in the window ( Preview render) it writes MASSIVE temp files to my SSD system disk.. Like 4-8gigs per render ( on animations ) .. I'd like to figure out how to avoid this as It's going to shorten the life of my boot disk, also causing it to slow down.

    Any advice? I already checked out the applications themselves, these is no temp write path setting.

    Thanks everyone.

    12-Core 2.93 Mac Pro, 24GB Ram, OWC Extreme 250gig SSD 6TB Internal HDD:apple:
     
  2. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Sorry to bump, lot of views and no replies, anyone have any ideas? Thanks again guys
     
  3. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Before you get too concerned, I would suggest this excellent analysis of SSD longevity...
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4159/ocz-vertex-3-pro-preview-the-first-sf2500-ssd/2

    If it was me, and I had plenty of spare space on the SSD (which I'm guessing you have) I wouldn't worry about it - presumably you got an SSD for the added performance... Why not use it?
     
  4. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    --! ignore, accidental double post
     
  5. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I appreciate the reply and agree with you, however, although I do have lots of free space I do about 6 test renders a day and my lighting caches are writing almost 40 gigs and erasing 40 gigs every day. I think it's starting to wear it out, if I can avoid it I'd like to know if there is a way I can write /var temp files to RAM instead of disk cache on my ssd
     
  6. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #6
    Off the cuff maybe there is an entry in the preference file that specifies the tmp path.

    You may have better luck at the software's support site.
     
  7. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #7
    I checked and I didn't see anything in the programs themselves, maybe the support community could help. But I remember there being some way to make temp files write to RAM instead of temp block files on your disk.. that ring a bell for anyone?
     

Share This Page