SSD Benefit in 2010 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by c1phr, Jul 2, 2013.

1. c1phr macrumors 6502

I've done some searching, and I wasn't able to find any threads asking a similar question.

I've been tossing the idea around of getting an SSD for my 2010 MBP. The speed would definitely be very nice, and a little bit of extra battery life wouldn't hurt. I'm a college student studying computer science, so most of my workload involves programming but I multi-task quite a bit (15 tabs open plus a reference PDF, while working on projects). I have a 750gb Momentus XT SSHD, and it's decent, but I don't see a ton of benefit from the caching SSD portion of the drive.

I'm ultimately looking at a Samsung 840, since they seem to have stellar reviews and they slot in pretty cheap as well. What are some people's experiences with SSDs in these older machines that only have SATAII and can't take advantage of the full speed of the drive? Is it worth upgrading to get a few more years out of this machine?

2. ramram55 macrumors 6502

Definitely with pure ssd the mbp would last you few more years, its speed should improve, samsung 840 definitely can be used for newer apple products should you decided to get a new one.

3. ValSalva macrumors 68040

ValSalva

The upgrade that has the biggest noticeable affect on day to day computing is going from a HDD to a SSD. Your Mac will start up and shut down faster, apps will open much faster, and the entire system will be more responsive. The difference is amazing. Once you've had a computer with an SSD, using one with a spinning HDD feels like you are using a ten year old computer.

4. NazgulRR macrumors 6502

Put a 840 500GB the other day into my MBP13" 2010.

Wow.

Been getting crazy amounts of page outs before with a 1TB HD (despite 8GB of RAM...which actually made me think 8GB of ram was not enough for me)