SSD Cant enable trim support, help (RESOLVED)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macguy93, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. macguy93, Oct 24, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012

    macguy93 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    i finally got around to installing my OCZ Vertex 3 120gb SSD drive. I was on the SSD drive when i first tried enabling trim support (via Trim enabler) but it was not working while being on that drive. so i changed my start up disk back to my mackintosh HD and booted from there when i then enabled the trim. I had to do a quick reset while still being on that same drive and i went to the system profiler to check if it was enabled. It was indeed enabled and looked as if everything was fine there. I then changed my startup disk back to my OCZ and double checked to make sure that the trim was was on and it said that it wasn't.. what may be causing it not to stay on like this? is there another way around this to work permeinatlyj?

    Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in avance!
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    I don't think you need to enable Trim on Sandforce SSDs. They do their own garbage collection.

    The firmware in the Vertex3 is probably turning it off since it is unnecessary.

    Ask the OCZ community on their forums if Trim is needed on the Vertex3 series.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    TRIM will only work on the boot drive and not other drives. So if you boot to the SSD and enable TRIM it will work, but not when the SSD is not boot.
     
  4. macguy93 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #4
    For some reason I was able to change it while on my mackintosh HD.. And when I was on that drive and reset the computer I was still on mackintosh HD and when I looked in system profiler it said trim support was active for the OCZ. However, when I booted to the OCZ it said in system profiler that I was not enabled. Even though it just said it was while being on my other boot drive. Maybe the trim enabler isn't the best tool to use? Isn't there a proper command to use in terminal that will allow this to work as well?

    Thanks for your reply!
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    You can search around and find the Terminal commands, but it won't help. All that TRIM Enabler app is doing is running a script that does the Terminal commands for you. Same end result and I don't believe it will change your results.
     
  6. macguy93 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #6
    Is it critical that I get trim enabled? If so what do I need to do get this working? One of my co workers has the same SSD in his Mac Pro and it is enabled for him..
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    It really is not that big a deal, particularly with a Sandforce controller drive like the Vertex 3. As a matter of fact, OWC recommends against using the TRIM hack with their Sandforce drives. The Sandforce controller does a pretty good job of garbage collection all on its own.... I would not worry about it.
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    TRIM sucks for Sandforce. Lots of pauses. Some crashes. At least on my current firmware's OWC 6G. FYI.
     
  9. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #9
    You enable TRIM for the copy of the operating system that you are using (what you booted from). Using TRIM Enabler or scripts will set all SSD drives that the O/S sees on its SATA ports as enabled for TRIM if they support it. If you boot from another disk then it is a different O/S and you need to re-run the enable for that.

    With ML I enabled TRIM using the TRIM Enabler program and all SSDs now show supportted. Also when doing a Repair Disk on a non-boot partition Disk Utility states that it is TRIMing unused blocks on that disk.

    Remember RAID volumes don't do TRIM in case you go down that path.
     
  10. macguy93 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #10
    Thanks for your reply! But I will give "trim enabler" another try. When I try to enable it while being on that drive (the SSD) I press the switch that usually slides over, but It just says it can't work and won't slide to "on" idk what would be causing this?
     
  11. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #11
    Trim does work on RAID. Working on my 2xOCZ Vertex 4 Raid 0 wonderfully.
     
  12. d-m-a-x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #12
    my crucial m4 died after three months. did not enable trim support (boot drive), fro. what people were saying around here, did not seem like i needed to. Tried the overnit garbage collection, but it seems the cells are dead. bad luck i guess?
     
  13. macmesser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Location:
    Long Island, NY USA
    #13
    Could you run a script as a startup item which would enable TRIM for a startup SSD and disable TRIM for all other SSDs on the system?
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I don't think that would work because part of the TRIM hack is clearing out the kext caches and rebooting, and only then do you have TRIM.
     
  15. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #15
    Thanks for the correction. I just tried with two small partitions using Disk Utility's software RAID options. Both striping and mirroring show "trimming unused blocks" when I do a repair. More options is good thing!

    ----------

    I've done it with different brands of drives. The hack is system-wide in that by default it searches for "APPLE SSD" and most of the hacks change it to "" which matches all drives. I was trying it out last year and when I changed it to "INTEL SSD" it worked as advertised leaving my OWC alone.

    This guy talks about how he did it: http://jasonnash.com/2011/03/27/its...trim-support-on-osx-for-your-ssd-unsupported/
     
  16. macmesser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Location:
    Long Island, NY USA
    #16
    Thanks. Will look into what a kext cache is. I thought trying to enable trim as part of the boot process might possibly be too late.

    ----------


    So if one knows the drive's handle, just use it to enable TRIM for the specific drive. Where would something like "Intel SSD" be found? System profiler? Once one had the names of all the SSDs for enabling TRIM, I guess it's just a matter of repeating the script, each time with the name of a different drive. Or am I off base?

    I will definitely check the link to see what this guy did.
     

Share This Page