ssd compatible for 1st gen MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ansetou, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. ansetou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #1
    My MBA is giving me a startup blue screen now and it never gets out of it. Based on what I read, this seems to indicate that the hd is gone. I'm thinking about replacing it with a SSD HD. Can anyone please suggest some compatible ones or what parameters to look for? Thanks,
     
  2. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
  3. manuelfp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    #3
    Helo!
    I had the same problem.
    My MBA rev A the HD died suddenly
    So I bought another HD 80 but it died few months later too.
    This HD 80GB from MBA first generation is really a piece of ****

    So I was decided to replace with a SSD hard drive.
    I read a lot, many reviews.. so after I decided to buy this model because I saw was the best (read and write speed)

    http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/SP...or-macbook-air-rev-a--80000ADF-1247088364.jsp

    I bought , changed myself (it's really easy) and no more problems.

    I'm not a fan of upgrades. I prefer to change my laptop, but I did and I recommend.
    The speed is amazing. All programs and boot is really quick.

    After all I sold last week my MBA, and bought the new one because I couldn't install snow leopard on my Rev A because it got heat with the fans high every time. I spoke with a genius bar that told me that REV A won't support snow leopard because it is a 64bit OS. In fact Rev A does a magic to run snow leopard.

    You can install but your computer will get hot really hot.

    With Leopard on my Rev A I don't have problems.

    So next year will debute Lion, so I won't miss this upgrade.
    Because this I sold my Rev A, otherwise I would keept it. It's a great machine and I miss my backlit keyboard.
    If you plan to use just to surf, word, excel , email, I recommend to change for this model of SSD.

    I bought a 64SSD (200us), but my iTunes library and many big files I have in my
    TimeCapsule 1T.
     
  4. ansetou thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #4
    guys, thanks for the reply. any chance of recovering data from the original hd?
     
  5. buckawheat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    I've been running snow leopard on a base 1.6 rev A air since it launched with no issues other than fan rev up when watching movies (youtube, etc).
     

Share This Page