SSD Degradation?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Thalin, Nov 4, 2013.

1. Thalin, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013

Thalin macrumors member

The last few days I have ran into problems installing and using Windows 7 and 8 on Bootcamp, it's one of the reasons i've fallen in love with OSX so much as it's so much simpler. Needless to say I have had to install and remove Windows 7 twice and am now going to install 8 for the second and final time. On the Mac side of things I have also formatted and done a clean install of Mavericks to streamline it and get rid of all the stuff i'm never going to use. It cleared a surprising amount of space.

Anyway I ask because i'm new to SSDs and I hear about them degrading over time. As installing and removing Windows through Bootcamp requires formats, partitioning and then removing the partitions back to single volumes, will this have affected the drive at all having done this this many times over such a short space of time? It's a new Macbook Pro which is why i'm being paranoid, as everyone is with a new piece of kit!

I'm sure this new SSD technology can handle a large amount and by the time any loss of quality is noticed it will be time to upgrade anyway years later, but I thought I would ask. I'm used to Windows and having to format to clear out crap so it has become a habit.

2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

Partitioning a drive only means something to the OS for the SSD it is nothing more than a couple Bytes written. Pretty much nothing.
    Partitioning works by writing a few numbers into a small table at a special place on the drive. The OS then knows that from LBA0 to LBA 256059 is partition 1. LBA 256060 - LBA some number is partition 2 and so on. All that is written is the LBA numbers and the partion name and type. Then a telephone book for the file system NTFS/HFS whatever. That parts (called formatting) is way more than the partitioning part.