SSD detected as HDD by OS X

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Chris155, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. Chris155 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    #1
    I'm having some problems with a new SSD in a mid 09 1.86ghz macbook air.

    I installed it and everything went ok until I checked for trim support (running 10.6.8), found out that Mac OS X has mistakenly identified the SSD as a conventional HDD and therefore won't enable trim. I did a clean install, smc and pram resets, even tried running Lion but I'm having the same problem. I know the SSD supports trim since I tried with Windows 7 on bootcamp and it reports it as enabled.

    This is what System Profiler reports of the SSD (it's an apple toshiba unit)


    NVidia MCP79 AHCI:

    Vendor: NVidia
    Product: MCP79 AHCI
    Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.20 Supported

    APPLE SSD TS128:

    Capacity: 125.5 GB (125,500,104,704 bytes)
    Model: APPLE SSD TS128
    Revision: A0985002
    Serial Number: 01J850005045
    Native Command Queuing: No
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Medium Type: Rotational
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified


    Is there any way of fixing this?
     
  2. BeeJee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island/North Jersey
    #2
    Maybe try verifying disk? I fond it odd that it comes up as a TS128 but says rotational? Its almost like the SSD itself doesn't know its an SSD
     
  3. Heathm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    #3
    I KNOW this is an old thread. ..but it is the closest that I could find to my current problem. I am having the exact same occurrence. Were you ever able to resolve this?
     
  4. Kanunu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #4
    I no longer own it but I had an iMac with an SSD mounted in the optical drive slot running the OS while I kept data only on the HDD. The installer (overseas) also loaded TRIM software for it. When I upgraded, I believe to Yosemite, the TRIM software no longer was permitted by the OS.

    Back in the US, I asked an independent repair shop about this and they said you can have the same effect by doing a full bootable backup of the drive. (I use Carbon Copy.) Then boot to the external backup, format the internal drive with Disk Manager, and do a full restore. It is a little time consuming and not something you would want to do weekly, but supposedly has the same effect.
     
  5. Heathm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    #5
    --- Post Merged, Feb 13, 2017 ---
    Thanks for the information Kanunu. I may try something similar to this. "Disk Manager" seems to offer some great advantages over the awful rework of Apples "Disk Utility". Just for any that might profit. . .OWC actually said that the way the SSD was showing up was normal for this drive it is the 2TB Electra 6G. Disk Utility actually says that it is NOT an SSD. They recommend enabling TRIM via TRIMFORCE. Thanks again!
     
  6. nzgeorge macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    See paragraph 4 here:

    http://blogs.helsinki.fi/tuylaant/2014/01/upgrading-old-macs-to-ssds/

    Lou
     

Share This Page