SSD drives as RAM memory

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by mac'in'toss'ed, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. mac'in'toss'ed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #1
    Just a naive question!!!( I know nothin about technology, i'm a biologist)
    Could SSD drives themselves play the role as the primary memory i.e. RAM???
     
  2. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #2
    Maybe. Doesn't Windows have a RAM boost where you can stick a USB key in to help? I think the Read/write times may be an issue, but not entirely sure.
     
  3. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #3
    I read on this forum somewhere that Solid State technology has two flaws which might limit this application (please correct me):

    1. in order for you to write data, you first need to zero the data on the area to be written; and
    2. SSD's have a limited read/write cycles, while this has improved to such a level that it is useful as mass storage, RAM tends to swap information a lot more frequently.

    That said it would be VERY useful for a very large zero latency storage medium, sitting somewhere between RAM and the Hard Drive.
     
  4. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #4
    I know Lenovo has an option for "1GB Intel Turbo Memory" in addition to option 4GB RAM.
     
  5. mac'in'toss'ed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #5
    :cool:Thanks, guys! very informative!
    Though it would be wonderful to be able to have such technology i think which would completely eliminate bootups at some point, just powerup and start!!!
     
  6. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    SSD is fast, however, it's still not as fast as RAM.

    If your virtual memory swap file is on your SSD, then in a way, you're achieving what you're wanting, but it isn't primary RAM.



    Oh, and I just don't see the ReadyBoost thing offering much of an advantage at all. USB, even USB 2.0 is slow, too slow for RAM. I'd just rather use the swap file on a SATA hard disk, you'll probably get better performance.
     

Share This Page