SSD for white MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Jorseff, Aug 17, 2011.

1. Jorseff macrumors newbie

Hi all,

The HDD on my MacBook has just given up and so needs replacing (thank god for Time Machine!). I'm vaguely toying with the idea of getting an SSD for the increased speed, what do you guys and gals think? Any thoughts on whether this is a good idea and, if it is, any suggestions on particular SSDs?

Due to cost I'd just use it for OS X and applications, with all big files on an external; I'd guess <80GB should suffice.

I've got zero experience with SSDs, and about the same amount of knowledge of them! I'm running a white MacBook, 2.2GHz 4GB.

Thanks in advance,

Joe

2. mcdonap macrumors member

I put an SSD in an older MacBook last year. It's a 2007 model. It is extremely fast now. By far the best computer upgrade I've ever done. Easy too.

I went with OWC. I liked their site - videos on how to install, detailed instructions with the drive, good customer service... If it's all new to you, they might be a good company to go with.

Good luck, I think it's an upgrade you'll be very pleased with. By the way, I'd go with as large a drive as you can afford. You will become impatient with the speed of an external drive once you get used to the SSD!

3. scrob macrumors member

I went with an OCZ Vertex 2 120GB for my 2007 Black and it is awesome. It comes with a funky sticker which is now on my MacBook, which reads "MY SSD IS FASTER THAN YOUR HDD!!" :D

4. Nago macrumors member

Nago

Hahah same upgrade here on a late 2009 2.26 ghz, used an optibay so i have 250 gb spinning and 120 gb solid state!

Reason I laughed is b/c of the reference to the sticker, seeing it right now, love it ever since I bought it!

Btw, the upgrade is said to be the best you can do to an old (or not so old) computer. I agree.

5. ataboc macrumors 6502

Do it!

I put a OCZ ssd in my 2007 Macbook two years ago and added years to its life!

6. jskee macrumors newbie