SSD & Handbrake

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by justabrake, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. justabrake macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    got a ? I was thinking about upgrading my HD in a MBP to a SSD but only if it works better with handbrake Like faster and how much faster then the stocked HD ?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    HandBrake will be probably faster less than 1% with an SSD.



    from Confused about SSDs and encoding video
     
  3. justabrake thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    So it's much more in the process (CPU) then anything to do with the HD's Correct ! So it wouldn't benefit to upgrade if that's the case

    Thanks
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Unless you have a very, very, very fast CPU, the HDD is not the bottleneck. But if you look for more than just improving your transcoding times, an SSD will benefit you. My 2007 iMac with an SSD feels like any current Mac except for CPU intensive stuff like rendering and transcoding.
     
  5. justabrake thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    I have the latest i7 2.4 MBP 17" not even out of the box yet (waiting to move before opening) but been looking at the intel's 520 180GB and testing the waters before dumping $300 on it


    Thanks
     

Share This Page