SSD + HDD = Didn't work

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by saggel, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. saggel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #1
    Hello all,
    today I decided at last to put my HDD on the caddy and the the SSD also in.
    At the end, well, the SSD was working and installed lion on it, but the system couldn't 'see' my old disk on the caddy. I took it off and put the DVD back in again! What could have gone wrong? Faulty caddy?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What exact MacBook an what exact caddy do you have?
    To find out what Mac OS X version you run, click :apple: > About This Mac:
    [​IMG]
    To find out, what exact Mac model you use, click :apple: > About This Mac > More Info > Hardware Overview:
    [​IMG]
    To see a more elaborate image explaining the above steps, click here.
    To see a more detailed video tutorial showing the above steps, click here (2 MB, 23s, .mp4).​
     
  3. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #3
    I have the 4.1 with lion and the caddy is PATA to SATA from eBay.
     
  4. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #4
    I've ordered a new caddy to try again.
    But if it's not a caddy issue?
    Should I be able to 'see' all disks immediately or should I do something to be able to see them after the modification?
     
  5. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #5
    The computer will "see it" automatically
     
  6. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #6
    Thanx Chris
    That's what I thought too.
    I'll try again with a new caddy!
     
  7. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #7
    Update on this:
    I received a replacement caddy
    Tried again and...
    It didn't work again... :(
    What can be wrong? :(
     
  8. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
  9. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
  10. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
  11. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
  12. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #12
    Can both caddies be faulty?
    I'm waiting for the enclosure of the superdrive to arrive to test the caddies there too... Has anyone bought a pata-to-sata caddy from ebay and can provide the link to try again with another? Or should I just go for the optibay as a safe solution?
     
  13. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #13
    An update on this (that might not interest anyone)
    I received a USB enclosure for the superdrive, and tried both caddies.
    They both failed to operate! So I did nothing wrong, they were both faulty!
    I'm getting a new one from another source and trying again!
     
  14. saggel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #14

Share This Page